Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 11-05-2011, 05:49 PM   #1

Share |

Why can't some generators run appliances that use an induction motor?

Why can't some generators run appliances that use an induction motor? I've heard of that and recently I read a review on a generator I was considering buying that says:

Quote:
As for starting air conditioner with induction motors, I can't help. I will say it runs power tools very well including a 15 amp planer. But it will not start my radial arm saw rated at 12 amps. My guess is the radial is an induction motor and the others are universal (have armature brushes).
I am not an electrician so please bear with me. Thanks
Deck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2011, 05:57 PM   #2

Mainly because induction motors have a huge start up surge !
Depending on the load it can be easily 3 to 4 times normal
running currant.
Now a normal old style genny can tolerate short term overloads,
so they tolerate it ! even thou it is technically wrong.
But some of the newer style gennys,
especially the invertor types,
have much more sensitive electronic regulators,
and overload circuits,
so they wont tolerate the overload even if it is breif.
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to dmxtothemax For This Useful Post:
Deck (11-05-2011)
Old 11-05-2011, 07:35 PM   #3
Electrical Contractor

Induction motors typically require 6 times the running Amps to start. Your generator is too small for such applications.

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to kbsparky For This Useful Post:
Deck (11-05-2011)
Old 11-05-2011, 11:30 PM   #4