Whole House UPS - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-21-2010, 07:03 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Ozarks, Missouri
Posts: 67
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Whole house UPS


If you think about it, a grid-tied solar power system is really a whole-house UPS. It uses batteries to supply AC to the house when the grid fails and the sun is down.

Why not put in the batteries and the inverter, and skip the solar panels? The inverter has a built-in battery charger and maintainer, as well as all of the automatic switch-over components. You don't want to be knocking your Hydro repairman off the pole by feeding current back up the line.

Check with your local solar power vendor. They could fill you in with the details. Or, buy a generator.

If you really want a whole-house UPS, better be prepared to spend thousands of dollars. A car battery ain't going to cut it...

Advertisement

houseinthewoods is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2010, 09:02 PM   #17
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,221
Rewards Points: 2,020
Default

Whole house UPS


Quote:
Originally Posted by houseinthewoods View Post
If you think about it, a grid-tied solar power system is really a whole-house UPS. It uses batteries to supply AC to the house when the grid fails and the sun is down.

Why not put in the batteries and the inverter, and skip the solar panels? The inverter has a built-in battery charger and maintainer, as well as all of the automatic switch-over components. You don't want to be knocking your Hydro repairman off the pole by feeding current back up the line.

Check with your local solar power vendor. They could fill you in with the details. Or, buy a generator.

If you really want a whole-house UPS, better be prepared to spend thousands of dollars. A car battery ain't going to cut it...

After some research I actually did find some inverters that have a built in charger, that is exactly what I need, think I will consider it. Not in my budget yet though. I'll stick to just powering the equipment I need rather then the whole house. The thing is if it switches automaticly and there's lot of stuff turned on it would not be able to handle it. The original idea behind "whole house" was that all circuits would be protected, I would just turn off most breakers, and only turn on the ones I need. A 5kw inverter would be more then enough to power the most important stuff. And yeah obviously whatever I do, I would want to make sure I do not backfeed the hydro feed.

But think really my best bet is the smaller inverter setup for the server, maybe plug a UPS in that inverter so the UPS can tell the server to shut down when the inverter battery is dead and the inverter has shut off, then if I want whole house protection I could get a generator. They're not as expensive as I figured. Even the natural gas / propane standby ones arn't all that bad. If these power outages are really a norm, then it will be something to consider for sure. Maybe once I make more money on the side it will be worth doing.
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 02:49 PM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Whole house UPS


I know it's been 1/2 a year, but I was wondering what ever happened to your DIY UPS. Did you use a marine battery, and how'd it work out? I've got, get this, 8 marine batteries and want to make a UPS. 8 batteries in my garage but no UPS for my desktop!!! Shouldn't be that hard, but I'd like to know how it all worked out for you.

Thanks!
fldavem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 04:46 PM   #19
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,221
Rewards Points: 2,020
Default

Whole house UPS


Actually one of my 1kva UPS batteries died, and I've been toying with the idea of using two 12V (need 24V) deep cycle batteries as replacement. The only possible turn off is the fact that I need to add water to them regularly (not a big deal, but I'd probably forget), and the hydrogen they produce. By the time I start to vent out and what not, it can become an expensive project. Later down the line I do want to look into building a battery shed outside, and have a wind mill or solar panels to charge them, and then tie it to the house/grid. But that's only for the future and not even sure if I have enough area on my lot. There is a limit to how much of the lot you can take up. For now, I just need to get my 1kva ups going again. :P

I'm even thinking if I let it vent in the basement I may be ok as it's such a large area, but when it comes to explosion hazards, it's not a chance I want to take.

If I wanted to do the whole house UPS though, this looks promissing:

http://xantrex.com/power-products/in...m-sw-3000.aspx

Come to think of it, best way to go about this is have a sub panel for most circuits, and have that feed the sub panel. Circuits like the oven and other high draw stuff would not be protected. But at least lights and what not would be protected, and it's not like they use much power so 3000w is more then enough. Could even have the microwave on there.

Advertisement

Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My house's previous owner - DIY horror stories Leah Frances General DIY Discussions 128 03-18-2014 07:41 AM
replumbing an old house simonfrog Plumbing 7 01-30-2012 05:45 AM
New house drywall DISASTER pharm07 Off Topic 13 03-25-2011 03:24 PM
I have Central Heating & Air, but house won't cool down..HELP!! exiledone1 HVAC 13 07-10-2009 11:09 PM
Moving a House 70 miles- Practical? GOTHICrevivalRULES Building & Construction 19 11-27-2008 09:58 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts