Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-05-2012, 11:35 AM   #1
Member
 
Trucon01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 655
Share |
Default

Whole House Surge addon


Hi everyone,

I'm about to have my old 200a panel swapped for a new Square D QO box / breakers. I won't have the CHSPT2ULTRA whole house surge when the electrician comes and was wondering if this was something I could do myself?

I won't have it because they want to charge me 500.00 for this when you can get them for 122 on ebay (NEW).

Also, the master electrician said he would charge 800.00 for the panel, 50 extra for 2 grounding rods and 125 for the permit, taking roughly 4 hours. I will be supplying all equipment.

__________________
Basement Demo started Jan 2012: View my basement progression!!!

Bathroom demo started Feb 2013: View my bathroom progression!!!
Trucon01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 12:15 PM   #2
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,845
Default

Whole House Surge addon


Every area is different, and every situation opens a can of worms. Really no way anyone can tell you why their job is different than what it would be elsewhere.

As for the whole house, yes it is good insurance. Also adding a transfer switch if you use a generator is also a good idea.

__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 12:31 PM   #3
Member
 
Trucon01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 655
Default

Whole House Surge addon


I was just posting the details of the work I'm having done for any readers with similar projects.

As for the surge, it doesn't look like it would be tough for me to do. Looks like I just get a 50a double pole breaker, attach the surge to that, neutral bar and ground. Done
__________________
Basement Demo started Jan 2012: View my basement progression!!!

Bathroom demo started Feb 2013: View my bathroom progression!!!
Trucon01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 12:45 PM   #4
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Default

Whole House Surge addon


You are correct on connecting the surge protector. It's easy. Turn off the main and be careful of the main lugs while you work.

The money you mentioned for the electrician sounds reasonable.
__________________
John
jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 02:55 PM   #5
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,845
Default

Whole House Surge addon


It is actually either a 15 or 20 amp breaker per leg.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 03:08 PM   #6
Member
 
Trucon01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 655
Default

Whole House Surge addon


For the Micro and Max they want you to use 15-20. In the manual for the ULTRA it says to get the most out of the unit to use a double pole 50.

__________________
Basement Demo started Jan 2012: View my basement progression!!!

Bathroom demo started Feb 2013: View my bathroom progression!!!
Trucon01 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Trucon01 For This Useful Post:
jagrrr (11-07-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
House gets too Hot at night furthermore HVAC 5 05-22-2012 02:44 PM
Connecting main house to guest house... hlavine Building & Construction 31 03-28-2012 09:04 AM
Big water leak under house Puzzles Plumbing 4 04-27-2011 02:50 PM
Trane XR12 1.5 ton-Too small for my house? Badfish740 HVAC 7 09-23-2009 05:48 AM
Whole house surge protector? 4thtbird Electrical 2 02-04-2008 07:19 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.