Whole House Fan Electrical Install - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-30-2009, 03:38 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Whole house fan electrical install


I have installed a whole house fan, but wish to confirm proper electrical hook-up: The motor is a 1/3 hp, 6 amp 115V. Can I connect this to an existing 14 gauge attic light on a 15 amp breaker with a switch both within 8 ft of the motor?

Advertisement

shalmi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 04:24 PM   #2
Remodeler
 
adpanko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 215
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Whole house fan electrical install


If that light is the only other thing on that circuit, then yes, the circuit has enough capacity to add your fan.

Advertisement

adpanko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 07:23 PM   #3
Household Handyman
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Albany, Ga.
Posts: 2,299
Rewards Points: 1,050
Default

Whole house fan electrical install


shalmi- -one thing you may want to look at is how close the light fixture is to the fan and can vibrations from the fan travel to the light fixture easily. The reason I'm saying this is that I installed a whole house fan some years ago in my home and loved it at certain times of the year. BUT-I found that the light bulb in the fixture in the attic kept going out more often than ever before. I was told about this possible vibration problem, although my fan ran smooth to me. I isolated the light fixture with some type of rubber mounts back then, and changed the bulb to "rough service". After that the bulb lasted a long time. Good Luck, David
Thurman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 12:51 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

Whole house fan electrical install


Quote:
Originally Posted by shalmi View Post
I have installed a whole house fan, but wish to confirm proper electrical hook-up: The motor is a 1/3 hp, 6 amp 115V. Can I connect this to an existing 14 gauge attic light on a 15 amp breaker with a switch both within 8 ft of the motor?
Sure you can. If the circuit cannot hold the current the breaker will trip and then you will have to run a new circuit to the fan or find another circuit that will accept the new load (fan).
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
replumbing an old house simonfrog Plumbing 7 01-30-2012 05:45 AM
200 Amp service really needed for a 830 sq ft house? overkill? alexz Electrical 7 11-16-2009 06:54 PM
Trane XR12 1.5 ton-Too small for my house? Badfish740 HVAC 7 09-23-2009 06:48 AM
House electrical wiring issue. gnidaerd General DIY Discussions 5 06-07-2009 03:42 AM
Old House Issues jpdub HVAC 22 10-20-2008 11:28 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts