Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-01-2011, 09:55 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 98
Share |
Default

Whip through cabinet


I am installed a recessed light above the kitchen sink and it is OK in install a whip cable through the cabinets? I need to cut through the kitchen cabinets (5" or so) to get from the hollow space above the sink to the wall to get to the the switch? Is that any type of hazard? I would think not since the power swith for the dishwasher is under the sink cabinet.

Thanks,

timchi29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2011, 12:10 PM   #2
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,969
Default

Whip through cabinet


What do you mean by whip? Are you talking about Romex ran through the cabinets? I would just drop the "Switch Leg" down the wall from the attic. Hot feed would go to the light, then Romex would go to the switch box to turn off and on the light. If still wanting to go through the cabinets, use Armored cable, not Romex.

gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to gregzoll For This Useful Post:
clashley (01-01-2011)
Old 01-01-2011, 07:53 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 98
Default

Whip through cabinet


the metallic flexible conduit that has a black, white and greem. The 2nd floor is above the kitchen so no attic. Romex is not aloud where I live.
timchi29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2011, 08:02 PM   #4
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,439
Default

Whip through cabinet


Where do you live? You obviously have some specific codes that don't allow romex. If you are in Chicago armoured cable may not be allowed either. Only conduit.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2011, 09:27 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 98
Default

Whip through cabinet


Chicagoland. I can use the metal flex up to 6' only.
timchi29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2011, 09:33 PM   #6
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,969
Default

Whip through cabinet


Quote:
Originally Posted by timchi29 View Post
Chicagoland. I can use the metal flex up to 6' only.
Hopefully you have union work doing the electrical, and accidentally dropping some cash filled envelopes. My BIL lives in Lake County, and found out the hard way, how bad contractors are up that way, because his basement still leaks like a sieve, even though the hacks that did the foundation and concrete work, still can't get it right.

gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help! Cabinet install gone slightly wrong eemichael83 Carpentry 14 10-26-2010 03:46 PM
Kitchen sink not centered. gmhut Plumbing 5 06-01-2010 11:44 AM
Installing kitchen cabinet in precise manner janny Carpentry 8 01-15-2008 10:59 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.