Where Would Timer Be Located? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-23-2008, 06:08 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

where would timer be located?


I just changed the bulb in our outdoor post light for the first time. It must be on a timer, though - it goes on around 4 each afternoon and is off when we get up in the morning. We've never changed it since we've been in the house (3 years), and I can't find it - any clue as to where the timer might be located?

Advertisement

kkbri2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2008, 06:35 PM   #2
DIY'r
 
ScottR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Hicksville, NY (Yes, it's an actual town).
Posts: 520
Rewards Points: 500
Default

where would timer be located?


Basement or garage wall closest to the lamp, maybe?

It may look something like this..



Couldn't find an image with the cover closed.. gray or beige box, anways.

Advertisement

ScottR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2008, 06:39 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

where would timer be located?


so definitely inside? I'll have to look harder - that's what I thought too, but I didn't see anything when I looked a few months ago....the guy who lived in this house was a little strange, so it could be anywhere!! Thanks
kkbri2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2008, 06:44 PM   #4
DIY'r
 
ScottR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Hicksville, NY (Yes, it's an actual town).
Posts: 520
Rewards Points: 500
Default

where would timer be located?


Well, I wouldn't say definitely inside..

I mean, technically speaking it could be in the attic or in a closet on the opposite side of the house or weirdly integrated into the lamp pole.. but I'm figuring that they probably used the least amount of wire to get from the panel to the timer to the lamp. So somewhere between the panel and the light, as the crow flies, give or take a few feet in all directions.

(And it may not look like that pic.. again, just guessing here..)
ScottR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2008, 06:45 PM   #5
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

where would timer be located?


"around" 4? or exactly 4? if it's not the same time, it's a sunsensor. that's what we have. on at dusk/off at dawn.

DM
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2008, 06:48 PM   #6
DIY'r
 
ScottR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Hicksville, NY (Yes, it's an actual town).
Posts: 520
Rewards Points: 500
Default

where would timer be located?


Quote:
Originally Posted by MdangermouseM View Post
"around" 4? or exactly 4? if it's not the same time, it's a sunsensor. that's what we have. on at dusk/off at dawn.
Now that is a question I wish I'd thought of..
ScottR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2008, 07:24 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 1,002
Rewards Points: 506
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

where would timer be located?


Quote:
Originally Posted by MdangermouseM View Post
"around" 4? or exactly 4? if it's not the same time, it's a sunsensor. that's what we have. on at dusk/off at dawn.

DM

Exactly what I was thinking when I was reading through the posts here! I'd check out the light post wiring, remove the top and see what you have in the post for wiring. Iv'e seen the photo eyes in the inside of the post just barely sticking out, sometimes they are in the top of the light cage. Could also check the wire coming into the pole for power before the light "comes on" for the night; if there is power and the light is off then its a photo eye.
theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2008, 11:16 PM   #8
Cow
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 116
Rewards Points: 75
Default

where would timer be located?


Is it a dusk-to-dawn light(barn light)? They use a twistlock style photocell mounted on top of the light.

Advertisement

Cow is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Timer switch...any ideas how it works? mcvane Electrical 5 09-28-2008 07:32 AM
Timer Installation lpmike82 Electrical 3 06-21-2008 03:58 PM
dryer timer auto cycles don't work mikedudl Appliances 6 04-29-2008 08:48 PM
Porch lights with timer or photocell? ciera Electrical 4 10-29-2007 08:35 AM
Adding a timer to my outdoor house lighting ConstantChange Electrical 2 03-31-2007 09:56 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts