Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-17-2012, 09:33 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 3,475
Share |
Default

where to run the wires ?


hello, gents.

i am going to be wiring a room to its own new circuit. it is a wiring hodge podge right now. anyway. i don't know how i should run the new wiring for the outlets around the 2 doors in have it the room. in other words = outlets on 2 walls. then i have to run to the outlets on the other 2 walls. but i have to go past 2 doors. i have a junction box in the basement that will be feeding the whole bedroom.

i know this is easy. but i just can't decide on the right way to do it

thanx

Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 10:49 PM   #2
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Default

where to run the wires ?


Either go into the ceiling or into basement and come back up. You can run the wire wherever you want except for though the door :D

__________________
Sarcasm is my friend
I'm here to learn too, i do mostly commercial/industrial/new construction and this place is a great way to pick up tips on residential from some good electrical minds. Excuse the spelling, my phone has a mind of it's own.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to andrew79 For This Useful Post:
Fix'n it (07-18-2012), PaliBob (07-18-2012)
Old 07-18-2012, 07:41 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 3,475
Default

where to run the wires ?


ok. going down, i'm trying to not do that. i can go through the attic. but by what you are saying, i can go over the doors ?
the walls are opened up.
Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2012, 08:12 PM   #4
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,678
Default

where to run the wires ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Fix'n it View Post
ok. going down, i'm trying to not do that. i can go through the attic. but by what you are saying, i can go over the doors ?
the walls are opened up.
Go from point 'A' to 'B' it's that simple.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
Fix'n it (07-18-2012)
Old 07-18-2012, 08:19 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 3,475
Default

where to run the wires ?


got it. thanx
Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
D 3 number 12 wires equal one number 8 wire? Uncle Wayne Electrical 3 01-26-2011 08:00 PM
if there are red white green and black wires coming out of your walls like everywhere cray331 Electrical 3 01-17-2011 12:56 PM
240v conduit with different gauge wires... Biospot Electrical 7 12-14-2010 07:07 PM
Removing wall with wires in it jboswald Electrical 11 11-29-2009 02:55 PM
Three hot wires coming into a receptacle? Jeff DIY Electrical 10 10-07-2009 01:35 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.