Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-01-2011, 11:50 AM   #1
Busy DIYer
 
picflight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 234
Share |
Question

Where is the ground? (pics)


Here is my panel. The entire house is wired with 1" flexible conduit and two conductors inside.

If I add or replace newer receptacles that have the ground screw, how do I wire it?

This is a fifties home, not sure how old the panel, fuses and breakers are.

Next step to make things safe, is to move the service to a new location (recommend by DWP) and upgrade the panel.




picflight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2011, 12:41 PM   #2
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,105
Default

Where is the ground? (pics)


The armor is your ground.

gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2011, 12:47 PM   #3
Busy DIYer
 
picflight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 234
Default

Where is the ground? (pics)


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
The armor is your ground.
So, if I extend a circuit with NM, the new receptacle that comes with the green ground screw and can be routed to and screwed to the metal box? The metal conduit will carry the ground further on to a termination point in the panel?
picflight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2011, 12:52 PM   #4
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,105
Default

Where is the ground? (pics)


You will have to check with your city hall, to see if they allow the use of Romex first. And what is with the two Red wires taped in the box.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2011, 01:03 PM   #5
Busy DIYer
 
picflight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 234
Default

Where is the ground? (pics)


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
You will have to check with your city hall, to see if they allow the use of Romex first. And what is with the two Red wires taped in the box.
The main fuse was blown, I had an electrician replace it and in doing so he disconnected the electric oven, he discovered a possible short in the run to the oven. He suspected that the wire to the oven was probably damaged while running the wire. I think those two Red wires are from the oven breaker.
picflight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2011, 02:38 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 16
Default

Where is the ground? (pics)


An electrician did that? Did he have any other recommendations to go along with it?
bigdaddyII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2011, 02:53 PM   #7
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,105
Default

Where is the ground? (pics)


Quote:
Originally Posted by bigdaddyII View Post
An electrician did that? Did he have any other recommendations to go along with it?
Probably more like Handyman.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to gregzoll For This Useful Post:
Code05 (09-01-2011)
Old 09-01-2011, 04:25 PM   #8
Busy DIYer
 
picflight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 234
Default

Where is the ground? (pics)


I think the electrician did that, I do not recall what he did in the panel even though I was watching him.
Should wire nuts be on the ends there instead of the electrical tape?
picflight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2011, 04:47 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 16
Default

Where is the ground? (pics)


A splice shouldnt be there period. If that is what was causing the short the circuit should have been changed. There is no telling how many other melted spots like that are behind the walls etc.
bigdaddyII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2011, 04:56 PM   #10
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,105
Default

Where is the ground? (pics)


bigdaddy, splices are allowed inside of panels, just that they have to be properly terminated. That means either fold the ends over, and use heat shrink to hold the end, or use wire nuts over the ends.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2011, 08:23 PM   #11
Busy DIYer
 
picflight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 234
Default

Where is the ground? (pics)


Quote:
Originally Posted by bigdaddyII View Post
An electrician did that? Did he have any other recommendations to go along with it?
Yes, move the service to the other end of the house, upgrade to 200A and tie into existing wiring via race-ways running through the crawl space. The service is aerial.
picflight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2011, 08:38 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 16
Default

Where is the ground? (pics)


Ouch. Good luck man. Im looking at a complete rewire and bringing house up to codes in the next year or so.
bigdaddyII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2011, 03:29 PM   #13
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Default

Where is the ground? (pics)


WOw! Wadsworth breakers! You don't see many of those around these days ...

__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
panel upgrade


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ground rod and ground wire question mulltron Electrical 17 07-29-2011 05:10 PM
Fried electronics after earth ground accidentally disconnected oukachiru Electrical 7 07-12-2011 03:05 PM
To ground or not to ground Red Squirrel Electrical 2 10-14-2010 08:42 PM
Wiring an outlet using both ground screws instead of pig-tailing together. cabber24 Electrical 5 08-26-2010 08:40 AM
Electrical Ground Problem cabinetman Electrical 15 01-28-2010 04:55 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.