Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-30-2008, 07:32 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 253
Share |
Default

Where to buy cable?


Do electrical supply houses sell RG6 coax flooded cable? I need to bury some cable line. I'm could just bury regular RG6 coax cable from home depot, but I'm not sure how long it will last. They don't sell direct burial cable.

bluefitness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2008, 08:21 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Default

Where to buy cable?


Quote:
Originally Posted by bluefitness View Post
Do electrical supply houses sell RG6 coax flooded cable? I need to bury some cable line. I'm could just bury regular RG6 coax cable from home depot, but I'm not sure how long it will last. They don't sell direct burial cable.

Yeah, how much you need? You can find it online pretty easy.

Don't go for the non burial in a burial situation.

Use the right connectors in outdoor connections!

Here you go, flooded rg/6 17 cents per foot

http://www.homenetworksupply.com/pro..._id=3244669798

rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2008, 08:38 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 253
Default

Where to buy cable?


Quote:
Originally Posted by rgsgww View Post
Yeah, how much you need? You can find it online pretty easy.

Don't go for the non burial in a burial situation.

Use the right connectors in outdoor connections!

Here you go, flooded rg/6 17 cents per foot

http://www.homenetworksupply.com/pro..._id=3244669798

Thanks for the link. I'm going 120 feet. Do you think I should go with quad cable. Also, will a cable company run line for free? It runs to an outdoor patio. I'm purchasing/leasing another cable box for that area. I'm guessing no, but I thought I would ask.

Last edited by bluefitness; 11-30-2008 at 08:42 PM.
bluefitness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2008, 07:09 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Default

Where to buy cable?


Quote:
Originally Posted by bluefitness View Post
Thanks for the link. I'm going 120 feet. Do you think I should go with quad cable. Also, will a cable company run line for free? It runs to an outdoor patio. I'm purchasing/leasing another cable box for that area. I'm guessing no, but I thought I would ask.

You don't need to go quad, its your choice if you do.

It depends on the cable company, I doubt mine would.

Quad is only necessary in high emi/rfi environments, outside isn't one of them.

120 ft has about 5 db signal loss, make sure your signal is strong at the house.

If you go rg/11, you would loose 3 db instead of 5, but it is much more expensive and requires special, harder to find connectors.
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2008, 04:03 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: beverly Ma
Posts: 42
Send a message via Yahoo to fburke
Default

Where to buy cable?


most cable compinies will give you the cable if you ask for it. most of the time you just have to fill out a request and it may take a day or 2 just tell them your doing a remodal and your haveing the drop run.. thay love it when the homowner has the cable prerun for them i work for a cable company so i run into this all the time.

if it;s under 250 feet use RG6 underground anything over that requst RG11 underground.
fburke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2008, 04:28 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 253
Default

Where to buy cable?


Quote:
Originally Posted by fburke View Post
most cable compinies will give you the cable if you ask for it. most of the time you just have to fill out a request and it may take a day or 2 just tell them your doing a remodal and your haveing the drop run.. thay love it when the homowner has the cable prerun for them i work for a cable company so i run into this all the time.

if it;s under 250 feet use RG6 underground anything over that requst RG11 underground.
I wish i would have known that earlier. I ended up buying it at a local shop. It cost 35 cents a foot for monster cable RG6 direct burial. It didn't say flooded on the wire, but it did say direct burial.

bluefitness is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cable issue or wiring issue? Duchey Electrical 57 12-15-2008 01:34 PM
Protect Cat6 cable near AC Power Cable? mfleming Electrical 5 10-31-2008 09:04 AM
Coaxial Cable blew tv, computer etc... ozflow Electrical 4 10-13-2008 07:06 PM
No Signal From Tv Cable LJMSURG Electrical 17 10-11-2008 08:00 AM
Coaxial Cable Question bahaisamurai Home Theater 9 08-08-2007 02:54 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.