Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-03-2008, 08:27 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

When do you need a permit?


I wish to do the following: change an incandescent bulb to a fluorescent light, using a plug-in for the new light.
Add an outlet on the same wall as the original one, about 8' apart. I want to change the original outlet to a GFI outlet since this is in my garage. The garage is not finished, so drilling through the studs is easy.
I would like another fluorescent light over my workbench (where the new outlet will be). Could this be run off the original light? I could run the wire in the attic to within 3' of where I want the light. By again using a plug the placement problem would be solved.
I do not have to go into the panel for any of this.
I would very much like two additional outlets, one on a different (finished) wall and one outside. I'm not sure I would be able to do those.
Anyway, for the two lights and the one outlet, do I need a permit?

tadpole59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2008, 08:52 AM   #2
Member
 
RippySkippy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ames, Iowa
Posts: 1,233
Default

When do you need a permit?


In our area it wouldn't need permitted...in others it would. Make a quick call to your local building official office tell them the scope of what you'd like to do and they will give you the scoop that matters.

__________________
when it comes to breakfast, the chicken is dedicated, the pig is committed.
LMASD
RippySkippy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2008, 08:56 AM   #3
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Default

When do you need a permit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by tadpole59 View Post
I wish to do the following: change an incandescent bulb to a fluorescent light, using a plug-in for the new light.
Add an outlet on the same wall as the original one, about 8' apart. I want to change the original outlet to a GFI outlet since this is in my garage. The garage is not finished, so drilling through the studs is easy.
I would like another fluorescent light over my workbench (where the new outlet will be). Could this be run off the original light? I could run the wire in the attic to within 3' of where I want the light. By again using a plug the placement problem would be solved.
I do not have to go into the panel for any of this.
I would very much like two additional outlets, one on a different (finished) wall and one outside. I'm not sure I would be able to do those.
Anyway, for the two lights and the one outlet, do I need a permit?
Every jurisdiction is different. Some use a minimum value or cost to determine when a permit is required. You can call your local plan commission or building department to check. In my area no permit would be required for this.

Yes, your new light can be connected to the existing light. If you need help, just post back.
__________________
John
jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2008, 09:56 AM   #4
Registered User
 
Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,520
Default

When do you need a permit?


Totally depends on the jursidiction's requirements, the code they've adopted, and how they choose to enforce it. Based on requirements in cities I've worked in, you would need a permit for this sort of work.

The International Residential Code (section R105.1) says that you need a permit to:

....install, enlarge, alter, repair, remove, convert, or replace any electrical...

Per 105.2, the following is exempt from permit requirements:

Repairs and maintenance. A permit shall not be required for minor repair work, including the replacement of lamps or the connection of approved portable electrical equipmet to approved permanently installed receptacles.
Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2008, 02:49 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,502
Default

When do you need a permit?


If I called an inspector for this he would berate me for wasting his time.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2008, 03:34 PM   #6
Registered User
 
Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,520
Default

When do you need a permit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by J. V. View Post
If I called an inspector for this he would berate me for wasting his time.
Then he's negligent in his required duties (and if he berates you he's an a-hole too). Whether or not a permit should be issued is based on scope of work, not amount of work or the cost involved. Code clearly establishes that. He certainly has the right to choose not to permit it or look at it, but he's opening himself up to some serious dereliction of responsibility issues.

Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Melted Snow - No Permit detailedEye HVAC 12 09-07-2008 10:27 PM
Permit / Code problems? snapperpb General DIY Discussions 4 04-21-2008 02:53 PM
estimating value for electrical permit Leah Frances Electrical 9 02-27-2008 06:15 PM
Permit sofrock7959 Remodeling 6 02-20-2008 03:58 PM
No Permit for my Porch and Deck jokiddjr Building & Construction 15 06-13-2007 10:34 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.