Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-04-2010, 04:27 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Jackson,Ohio
Posts: 232
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

What's max amount of circuits can pigtail off hot feed?


O.K. I am wanting to put an outdoor floodlight at the end side of my house. What I was thinking was having the switch at my front or rear door. I planned on pigtailing off 1 of the hot feeds. My question is how many different runs can you pigtail off a hot feed, if that makes sense. I havent looked at them yet but for example: Front door switches have a exterior porch light, then another switch is to ceiling fan, another switch to a switched outlet. I don't know if there is just 1 hot feed coming in and there daisy chained off that 1 hot leg and if I could pigtail another line off to feed switch? See what i'm saying?
Also: This is a manufactured home so no attic space. Under is the only way. I am just going to run UF under the home and fish up to switch and then fish it up the exterior wall end of house. Do I need just a retro light fixture box for inside exterior wall. Didn't know if mattered being it will be facing exterior? Thx. Mike.

MikeVila is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 06:55 PM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,564
Rewards Points: 56
Default

What's max amount of circuits can pigtail off hot feed?


No limit except the wattage of the bulbs total on the circuit should not exceed 1800 watts.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 09:01 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Jackson,Ohio
Posts: 232
Rewards Points: 0
Default

What's max amount of circuits can pigtail off hot feed?


Simple enough. And just have to use a deep retro box if the number of wires get too much for a normal box, correct? Thx. Mike.
MikeVila is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 11:49 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Jackson,Ohio
Posts: 232
Rewards Points: 0
Default

What's max amount of circuits can pigtail off hot feed?


No problems with the UF cable running under the home? I was thinking it would be easier to fish the cable if I installed a exterior GFCI receptacle then ran straight up to light. I wouldn't want the receptacle switched though so I would have to figure out the wiring and if it would be easier without receptacle. Can't visualise the wiring in my head. Any ideas or suggestions is appreciated.
MikeVila is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 06:13 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Jackson,Ohio
Posts: 232
Rewards Points: 0
Default

What's max amount of circuits can pigtail off hot feed?


Still waiting on some more info. Thx. Mike.
MikeVila is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 07:45 PM   #6
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 0
Default

What's max amount of circuits can pigtail off hot feed?


One thing you may want to verify is that you have a neutral in the box where you are planning to connect is feed.
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2010, 02:03 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Jackson,Ohio
Posts: 232
Rewards Points: 0
Default

What's max amount of circuits can pigtail off hot feed?


I'm sure there is. Out of all the switches there has to be along with a constant hot.
MikeVila is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2010, 03:03 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Jackson,Ohio
Posts: 232
Rewards Points: 0
Default

What's max amount of circuits can pigtail off hot feed?


Assuming I can tap into a constant hot feed and a neutral which 99% will be no problem.

1. Is there a code violation with running UF inside a wall?
2. Would it be code as well as easier to fish wires if I installed junction boxes underneath the home?
3. What would be a way to wire it to install a exterior GFCI and an exterior flood light while having receptacle unswitched? Hope i'm clear on explaining what I want to do. I appreciate any input and suggestions. Thx. Mike.
MikeVila is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2010, 08:27 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Jackson,Ohio
Posts: 232
Rewards Points: 0
Default

What's max amount of circuits can pigtail off hot feed?


Did a little homework reading my electrical books. Looks like if I want a non switched outlet I need to feed the GFCI first, then feed the switch so it is protected and then to the exterior light so it can be protected. That sounds like too much fun from under my home lol.

MikeVila is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Feed Sub Panel From Sub Panel jamiedolan Electrical 3 02-03-2009 12:22 PM
feed to subpanel question JCA1 Electrical 1 03-11-2008 08:16 PM
12/3 Romex to Feed 2 Circuits? DaveHembree Electrical 22 09-28-2007 08:24 AM
Power circuits under leaky bathtub? Beren Electrical 1 07-23-2007 09:02 AM
One neutral for two circuits?? TronCarter Electrical 13 01-14-2007 08:21 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.