Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 04-24-2013, 11:17 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 546

What would cause these power outages?

I have never seen anything like this before and wonder what the cause might be.
Twice last week and earlier today the power went dead for 2 seconds and came back on. Usually it flickers a bit and then goes out, but this was like someone threw a switch off and back on.
The people across the street had the same experience, so it isn't my wiring. I have reported it to the utility, but I expect they will say it is normal.

It is my first time living in a rural area, so maybe the outages are different here, but the neighbor who has been here 15 years hasn't seen it before either.

Toller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 11:34 PM   #2
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek

Rewards Points: 2,014

Was there high wind at the time? What kind of terrain are you located in? Adding your location to your profile might be helpful... The type of brief outage you are describing sounds like the operation of an automatic recloser. This is basically a high voltage circuit breaker that automatically resets itself. They are usually set to attempt to re-close the circuit three times in succession before locking out. These are used because the most common faults on overhead power lines are transient faults that correct themselves momentarily. Things like suicidal squirrels, birds nesting in the wrong places, or high winds blowing lines together. If the fault clears itself, then the recloser will turn the power back on in a few seconds and this avoids an unnecessary service call and extended outage. Note that this is an important reason to stay away from downed power lines, even if they appear dead: they will often become hot again automatically!

Old 04-25-2013, 12:01 AM   #3
Electrical Enthusiast

Rewards Points: 500