Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-12-2009, 07:12 PM   #16
Electrician
 
ctsmiths's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Naugatuck, CT
Posts: 186
Share |
Default

What wire to use to run 300' for 110 service


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
Most boat lifts I have seen were on 20A 240v circuits and not having much of a load.





Such as?
All im saying is that there is potential here for enough electric use that "I would " use #4 and most people in the trade would do the same. You said you would also am I correct?

Grounding can be a problem for a home owner.

ctsmiths is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2009, 07:36 PM   #17
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,990
Default

What wire to use to run 300' for 110 service


The feeder must be capable of carrying the calculated load nothing more nothing less. Voltage drop is a concern based on that calculation. 300' at 120 volts will have substantial voltage drop with out proper sizing.

You would be kicking yourself for running 120 volts to the dock. better boat hoists require a 240 volt motor. Just depends on what your going to lift. there are 120 volt models that will raise boats up to 2800 lbs.

But your going to kill yourself with wire costs at 120 volts trying to get that 300 feet vs the wire size for 240 volts considering 40 amps as the max load.

Also you got a lot of things to consider if this is a lake that has flood levels. Depending on where you put the panel on shore or on the dock. Cord reels may be required unless the dock ramp has a limited length to allow for water fluctuations.

You will need a ground rod. You will likely not be allowed UF but will be required to have 4 wires all insulated (H-H-N-Grd) in pvc conduit. No covered or bare equipment grounds. Green insulated only. You should consider making sure what ever wire you run will deliver rated voltage to your boat hoist motors. For 230 volt motors #6 or #4 copper should suffice with a #8 ground. No alumuinum wire can be used from my experience. 40 amp feeder is probably a good bet for a 2 slip boat dock. Hang a 100 amp panel with a disconnect in it main breaker or backfed main put a 40 in the house panel and use the main in the sub for your disconnect. You need a 100 to get enough spaces for your 240 and 120 volt loads. Neutrals and grounds seperated at the dock sub panel. PVC for a dock run is likely to be required to be buried 24 inches but might be 18 you need to get the local dock wiring guide from your codes guys.

Here is a diagram I put together as a general guide for the requirements for a dock in my area.
Attached Thumbnails
What wire to use to run 300' for 110 service-dock-wiring-3.jpg  
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie

Last edited by Stubbie; 02-13-2009 at 09:38 AM.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2009, 08:12 PM   #18
Electrician
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 14
Default

What wire to use to run 300' for 110 service


rule of thumb would be to derate the wire for every 100'. meaning to go to the next size larger wire for every 100'. having an electrican do the final connections is wise because of the fact that you will be near water. using a GFCI circuit breaker in the main panel to feed this sub panel will be the thing to remember also. they are not cheap but most likely will be required. either that or every branch circuit ran out of the sub panel will need a GFCI circuit breaker or GFCI receptical depending on its purpose.
the sub panel can be near the water but not on any type of floating dock.
any recepticals installed on a floating dock must be above 12''.
one thing to concider is the Datum Plane which is a 2' minimum height above the highest level of tidal and non tidal water. this would affect you if the dock you have is fixed. these type of situations are why you will need a elecrican to safely do this job.
spark-451 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2009, 09:03 PM   #19
Electrician
 
ctsmiths's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Naugatuck, CT
Posts: 186
Default

What wire to use to run 300' for 110 service


Quote:
Originally Posted by spark-451 View Post
rule of thumb would be to derate the wire for every 100'. meaning to go to the next size larger wire for every 100'. having an electrican do the final connections is wise because of the fact that you will be near water. using a GFCI circuit breaker in the main panel to feed this sub panel will be the thing to remember also. they are not cheap but most likely will be required. either that or every branch circuit ran out of the sub panel will need a GFCI circuit breaker or GFCI receptical depending on its purpose.
the sub panel can be near the water but not on any type of floating dock.
any recepticals installed on a floating dock must be above 12''.
one thing to concider is the Datum Plane which is a 2' minimum height above the highest level of tidal and non tidal water. this would affect you if the dock you have is fixed. these type of situations are why you will need a elecrican to safely do this job.
I Agree.
ctsmiths is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2009, 03:30 AM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Default

What wire to use to run 300' for 110 service


Quote:
Originally Posted by jerryh3 View Post
So, what would be the problem with 6/3 on a 50A breaker?
So, do you see a problem with this?
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2009, 08:20 AM   #21
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 5
Default

What wire to use to run 300' for 110 service


Thank you all for the great information. It seems that there is a lot more to consider than I expected, so I'm going to leave this up to a qualified electrician.

Thanks!

bobfake is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Remodel - Moving from 200 amp service to 320 amps stevedar Electrical 20 11-29-2009 08:14 PM
Service wire thru attic Poot Electrical 23 02-10-2009 07:17 AM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 09:41 PM
Grounding for two service entrances to same house. jogr Electrical 18 09-24-2008 10:31 AM
Melted Service Entrance Wire in Panel theatretch85 Electrical 13 08-22-2008 10:37 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.