What Type Of Electric Do I Have In Mu House? - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-16-2007, 04:49 PM   #16
Electrician philosopher
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lilburn, GA
Posts: 838
Rewards Points: 500
Default

What type of electric do I have in mu house?


Ok, if I run a new circuit with an A phase hot and a neutral and attach a 20A 120V rect. to it and plug my pina colada blender into it do I get my cocktail faster? Maybe or maybe not but I'm guessin somethings gonna happen. Watch ya think Buffalo? Faster cocktails or not?

Advertisement

Andy in ATL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2007, 05:08 PM   #17
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,235
Rewards Points: 2,440
Default

What type of electric do I have in mu house?


Quote:
News Flash - A 3-phase centered tapped configuration has (4) current carrying conductors.
Yep and they are all there. There are two dead give aways that this is high leg delta....can you see them? And I'm not talking about the writing on the enclosure though that does seem odd doesn't it? We asked you to explain how you make this three wire single phase and you avoid it. Forget that he has one leg that is 210 volts to neutral you don't need that to tell what he has there. Remember I asked you first to explain that cabinet as single phase. Surely you can do that?

Quote:
Like I said to andy, stubbie, and the others who insist this is 3 phase, you people are not qualified to give anybody advice, you're irresponsible, and finally not even smart enough to acknowledge the advice of somebody who was educated in the trade
So far I have never seen where you have the word wrong in your vocabulary. I do not appreciate your accusations. I have never been to fond of people who want to throw their qualifications out there to get attention or a pat on the back. You have dug yourself a hole and are desperate to get out of it. One way is to show us this is single phase, do that and I'll admit I'm wrong. If you can't do that then I will assume your qualifications and 25 years of experience are phoney.

Ok... I'll help you out tell me which one of these do you think he has there?


http://www.bmillerengineering.com/elecsys.htm

Stubbie

Last edited by Stubbie; 09-16-2007 at 05:16 PM.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2007, 05:23 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 50
Rewards Points: 25
Default

What type of electric do I have in mu house?


stubbie writes..."Yep and they are all there. "


I see (3) THREE current carrying conductors in each pipe....kindly point out the fourth
buffalonymann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2007, 05:37 PM   #19
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,904
Rewards Points: 2,162
Default

What type of electric do I have in mu house?


Quote:
Originally Posted by buffalonymann View Post
speedy you are not a professional, and not even close to an electrician. Even a monkey can count wires.
The fact that you have to insult me speaks VOLUMES about your character.

I am now completely convinced you are nothing but an internet troll. You ONLY purpose is to cause strife on the boards.
You were fun but are now getting tiring sir.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2007, 05:38 PM   #20
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,235
Rewards Points: 2,440
Default

What type of electric do I have in mu house?


It goes over to the neutral lug in the bottom right it is coming in under the service entrance wires...that is the neutral ....the bonding in the cabinet proves it! If it was a ground why would it be on a insulated stand off? The white wire with the split bolt is the neutral can you see that?

You have 3 hot wires and a neutral.... the neutral is not carried to the meter in that type cabinet. You have three ungrounded line wires to the meter and three load wires leaving...its obvious.

It is also a delta meter see the little triangle on the meter face? What do you suppose that means.

And please don't BS me with any more of your 25 years electrician baloney.

Stubbie

Last edited by Stubbie; 09-16-2007 at 05:42 PM.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2007, 06:03 PM   #21
Electrician philosopher
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lilburn, GA
Posts: 838
Rewards Points: 500
Default

What type of electric do I have in mu house?


You were fun but are now getting tiring sir. [/quote]


I still think he's kind of fun. I enjoy the insults. It will be interesting to see how he gets out of this one. Eventually he'll have to quit.
Andy in ATL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2007, 06:05 PM   #22
Once fried, twice shy.
 
elkangorito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Thailand
Posts: 251
Rewards Points: 250
Default

What type of electric do I have in mu house?


I did some searching (thanks to our old friend Google) & came up with the following;

1] a link that gives details for the GE V-66-A KWH meter.

Here is the link;

http://www.geindustrial.com/products...BB%20Index.htm

Please note this line in the data;

"
3-Phase, 4-wire Delta
V-66
15A
None
None
Bottom Connected
"

Click on the '50' on it will clearly show a wiring diagram of the KWH meter in question.

I hope this ends the debate
__________________
Switchboard design engineer & Licensed Electrician (Australia).
elkangorito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2007, 06:10 PM   #23
Electrician philosopher
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lilburn, GA
Posts: 838
Rewards Points: 500
Default

What type of electric do I have in mu house?


And I'm not talking about the writing on the enclosure though that does seem odd doesn't it?


http://www.bmillerengineering.com/elecsys.htm

Stubbie[/quote]


Ive seen this before. Since the "bastard" leg or "wild leg" is typically on B phase the power company lineman wanted to make DANG sure everyone knew it was installed on A phase.
Andy in ATL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2007, 06:23 PM   #24
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,235
Rewards Points: 2,440
Default

What type of electric do I have in mu house?


Quote:
I hope this ends the debate
It does for me ... Oh and thanks for the effort to get this to and end.


Now it's time to hear the excuses.

stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2007, 06:26 PM   #25
Once fried, twice shy.
 
elkangorito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Thailand
Posts: 251
Rewards Points: 250
Default

What type of electric do I have in mu house?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Stubbie View Post
It does for me ... Oh and thanks for the effort to get this to and end.


Now it's time to hear the excuses.

stubbie
My pleasure . It's ashame that the PDF can't be attached into a post (maybe I don't know how to do that yet?) Even if I compress it, it is still 70kb.

EDIT: BTW, I'm not taking sides here....I'm just interested in finding out all about these strange multiphase setups you fellas have
__________________
Switchboard design engineer & Licensed Electrician (Australia).

Last edited by elkangorito; 09-16-2007 at 06:31 PM.
elkangorito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2007, 06:32 PM   #26
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,235
Rewards Points: 2,440
Default

What type of electric do I have in mu house?


Well I'm not going to be much help, your computer skills are much better than mine.... but I have connections!!! Maybe I can see if they know how to do it.

Your smart to not take sides it is very crowed in that room.

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2007, 07:46 AM   #27
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,964
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

What type of electric do I have in mu house?


Quote:
Originally Posted by buffalonymann View Post
You people don't have a clue about what he has. I've warned you people about the dangers of what you are doing, but you lack basic electrical knowledge to know it.

Sounds like someone else I know that has cause problems before on other sites.
Forget you're meds Joe?
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2007, 02:16 AM   #28
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,235
Rewards Points: 2,440
Default

What type of electric do I have in mu house?


Sorry just had to bring this up again

Quote:
speedy you are not a professional, and not even close to an electrician. Even a monkey can count wires.
Maybe buffaloney is an orangutan.... they can't count anything except bananas and fruit. Kinda cute in a ugly way. If Speedy isn't a professional at least he is a monkey.



PETA ALERT....Spotted in New York State...No it isn't Big Foot!!

Quote:
News Flash - A 3-phase centered tapped configuration has (4) current carrying conductors.
Orangutans also have poor eyesight. After all that neutral was hard to see someone painted it white to camouflage it.

Quote:
Like I said to andy, stubbie, and the others who insist this is 3 phase, you people are not qualified to give anybody advice, you're irresponsible, and finally not even smart enough to acknowledge the advice of somebody who was educated in the trade
On a serious note this may go down as the troll statement of all time.

Well just a little humor and sarcasm on a slow night, see ya guys

Stubbie

Last edited by Stubbie; 09-18-2007 at 02:52 AM.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2007, 09:08 AM   #29
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

What type of electric do I have in mu house?


I have occasionally visited this site, but haven't felt the need to register or reply to a thread until now.
I've got 37 years in the commercial/industrial electrical trade
I'm a licensed electrical contractor
I'm an ICC certified electrical inspector, and an IAEI member
Also the first non-union electrician to be certified as a journeyman in the State of CA.
(These things are posted just so I might have a little bit of credibility, not as bragging)

uffBalonymann is just plain wrong, and loudly proclaims his ignorance.

This is a 4 wire center tapped Delta system. The grounded (neutral) conductor does not run through the test blocks on a 120/240 1 system. What he is referring to as a "mechanical ground" (an incorrect term, BTW) is the neutral.
The power company might supply the high-leg conductor on any phase that they desire. (SCEdison supplies it on "C"). It should, however be routed to the "B" phase at the first point beyond the service entrance, such as a panelboard.

Speedy Petey, Marc (frenchelectrician), and the others are correct.

Beware that information from uffBalonymann may get you killed.

Thanks
DuncanB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2007, 11:14 AM   #30
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,235
Rewards Points: 2,440
Default

What type of electric do I have in mu house?


I worked 25 years in a plant with high leg delta but I had forgotten that the utility did in fact bring the orange leg in on phase C. I wasn't aware that they brought it to single family residences. I appreciate you supplying that and other information to the site. Though this thread got out of hand because of the disrespect of one member tripping my trigger I'm glad that you made your reply. I'm not always right, there are things I am not familiar with and avoid any WAG. The other thing is on the DIY sites is you better be responsible in your replies and posters should use caution with any advice. They should do a quick search of the forum about the person giving advice to them so they can have the piece of mind he is responsible. But it gives me piece of mind to know other professionals monitor this site and will respond if advice given here is unsafe. DIY sites in my opinion don't exist so we can all try to be "know it alls" we come here to do our best to make sure a homeowner has a decent shot at doing his electrical project safely cause they are generally going to do it anyway. When these people post here it tells me they have respect for electricity and the common sense to ask how to do the project so they don't burn their house down.

And I'll tell you something....it ain't a lot of fun worrying about whether these homeowners are going to get there hand in the wrong place.

Stubbie

Advertisement

Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cape Cod Style House Attic/Crawl Space Insulation Help Danielg Insulation 24 05-21-2012 09:20 AM
replumbing an old house simonfrog Plumbing 7 01-30-2012 05:45 AM
200 Amp service really needed for a 830 sq ft house? overkill? alexz Electrical 7 11-16-2009 06:54 PM
Will my house make my kids sick??? jokrupinski General DIY Discussions 18 09-29-2006 05:05 AM
Brick and block house footer question. ourzoo Building & Construction 2 07-01-2006 03:57 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts