Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-06-2011, 09:17 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2
Share |
Lightbulb

What size of wire to run?


I need to power up a 100 amp panel on a new detached RV garage from my existing 200 amp panel. What size wires (2 hots, 1 neutral) would be the correct size to run over a 240 feet span between panels? the panel will be grounded from the new foundation . I will be using a 50 amp RV hook up and just basic electricity for a 2300 sq.ft garage. Your help is greatly appreciated.Thanks.
wire09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2011, 09:21 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

What size of wire to run?


Where are you located ?

You need 4 wires for a sub here

So you are feeding the 100a panel with 50a ?
Or you want a 100a panel, then will feed 50a to the RV ?
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2011, 09:38 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2
Default

What size of wire to run?


I live in the high desert, California. Electrical was not in my plans and the garage has been finaled though the city, but would still want to be complaint.

I am feeding the new 100amp panel from a 200 amp panel attached to my home, distance of 240 ft. I want to run a 50 amp service to my RV from the new 100amp panel.
wire09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2011, 09:43 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

What size of wire to run?


From what I see in the tables...
For the full 100a draw #2 wire would give you 4.8% voltage drop drawing 100a
Drawing 80a or less it would be a 3% voltage drop or less

2 hots, neutral & a ground
Plus 2 ground rods
Neutrals & grounds kept separate at the sub
Neutral bar not grounded to the case
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Size and type of entrance wire for 200A? Beemer533 Electrical 7 03-15-2010 10:54 PM
HALP! Master/Remote Dimmer troubles! Confuserated Electrical 9 02-12-2010 03:30 PM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 09:41 PM
What size wire do I have? 737Pilot Electrical 4 10-09-2008 09:47 PM
Wire size and Breaker size for remodel ?? Skydmark1 Electrical 12 12-15-2007 05:00 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.