Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-27-2012, 05:12 PM   #16
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,132
Rewards Points: 2,056
Default

What size Wire for 70 Amp at 107 Feet


Quote:
Originally Posted by kenb1023 View Post
They say since the out building has it's own grounding rods the 4th is not needed.
Ugh... what code cycle are you on, and ground rods do not accomplish what a grounding conductor does...

680.25 (B) requires a grounding conductor.... and you would still need ground rods...

stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2012, 05:15 PM   #17
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,682
Rewards Points: 1,002
Default

What size Wire for 70 Amp at 107 Feet


Quote:
Originally Posted by kenb1023
They say since the out building has it's own grounding rods the 4th is not needed.
Really?
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2012, 05:16 PM   #18
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,132
Rewards Points: 2,056
Default

What size Wire for 70 Amp at 107 Feet


Quote:
Originally Posted by electures View Post
Really?
Just keeps getting better, yes? I can only imagine the other code violations.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
Speedy Petey (07-27-2012)
Old 07-27-2012, 05:17 PM   #19
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10
Default

What size Wire for 70 Amp at 107 Feet


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
Ugh... what code cycle are you on, and ground rods do not accomplish what a grounding conductor does...

680.25 (B) requires a grounding conductor....
This is New Mexico, I think codes just came about in the past 20 years or so.
kenb1023 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2012, 05:18 PM   #20
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,682
Rewards Points: 1,002
Default

What size Wire for 70 Amp at 107 Feet


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375

Just keeps getting better, yes? I can only imagine the other code violations.
I wanna see the conductors in free air.
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2012, 05:19 PM   #21
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,132
Rewards Points: 2,056
Default

What size Wire for 70 Amp at 107 Feet


Quote:
Originally Posted by electures View Post
I wanna see the conductors in free air.
I wanna see pictures of everything.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2012, 05:26 PM   #22
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10
Default

What size Wire for 70 Amp at 107 Feet


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
I wanna see pictures of everything.
I just want to make this right. I knew what they were doing was wrong but I needed validation on it. Now I have it. The trench is still open, the roof is not on yet so I am at a point the things can be fixed. It is a good thing I only put a third down for the project. I will need the leverage to get it done right.
Thanks,
kenb1023 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2012, 05:27 PM   #23
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,132
Rewards Points: 2,056
Default

What size Wire for 70 Amp at 107 Feet


Quote:
Originally Posted by kenb1023 View Post
I just want to make this right. I knew what they were doing was wrong but I needed validation on it. Now I have it. The trench is still open, the roof is not on yet so I am at a point the things can be fixed. It is a good thing I only put a third down for the project. I will need the leverage to get it done right.
Thanks,
Do you have inspections in your area?
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2012, 05:40 PM   #24
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10
Default

What size Wire for 70 Amp at 107 Feet


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
Do you have inspections in your area?
I am in the midle of no place NM. There are more cows than peopel. Getting inspectors out here is like getting DC to balance the budget
kenb1023 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2012, 05:42 PM   #25
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,132
Rewards Points: 2,056
Default

What size Wire for 70 Amp at 107 Feet


Quote:
Originally Posted by kenb1023 View Post
I am in the midle of no place NM. There are more cows than peopel. Getting inspectors out here is like getting DC to balance the budget
Gotcha...


Here is a great pdf file on article 680...

http://www.mikeholt.com/files/PDF/Pooldownload.pdf
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2012, 05:52 PM   #26
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10
Default

What size Wire for 70 Amp at 107 Feet


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
Gotcha...


Here is a great pdf file on article 680...

http://www.mikeholt.com/files/PDF/Pooldownload.pdf
Thanks, last I heard New Mexico was still under code 80 something. I wish I could remember when I was having this conversation when we moved out this way 3 years ago. Love the openness but the isolation can wear on you. We came from WI. They are very strict on a lot of things. I remember the hoops I jumped through when I built my addition. However the inspector told me I over did everything. I over built the walls roof and my electric was good for an industrial shop. 14 separate 20A circuits for the garage alone. Everything was on GFIs. The only error I made was that I did not secure the Romex cables close enough to the power panel. That was an easy fix. I did have one GFI that would trip for no reason in the laundry room every now and then. Replaced it a couple of times and had a licensed electrician look at. All he could say is that there was no reason why it would trip, may be from lightning surges.
kenb1023 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2012, 05:58 PM   #27
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,132
Rewards Points: 2,056
Default

What size Wire for 70 Amp at 107 Feet


Quote:
Originally Posted by kenb1023 View Post
Thanks, last I heard New Mexico was still under code 80 something. I wish I could remember when I was having this conversation when we moved out this way 3 years ago. Love the openness but the isolation can wear on you. We came from WI. They are very strict on a lot of things. I remember the hoops I jumped through when I built my addition. However the inspector told me I over did everything. I over built the walls roof and my electric was good for an industrial shop. 14 separate 20A circuits for the garage alone. Everything was on GFIs. The only error I made was that I did not secure the Romex cables close enough to the power panel. That was an easy fix. I did have one GFI that would trip for no reason in the laundry room every now and then. Replaced it a couple of times and had a licensed electrician look at. All he could say is that there was no reason why it would trip, may be from lightning surges.
I believe New Mexico is on the 2011 NEC...
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2012, 06:05 PM   #28
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Rewards Points: 500
Default

What size Wire for 70 Amp at 107 Feet


One thing I always tell people is to ask your contractor to see the licenses of the people in his employ. Glad to see you only put a third down and very nice to see you want it done right. It's refreshing to see someone actually going above and beyond to NOT cut corners.
__________________
Sarcasm is my friend
I'm here to learn too, i do mostly commercial/industrial/new construction and this place is a great way to pick up tips on residential from some good electrical minds. Excuse the spelling, my phone has a mind of it's own.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2012, 06:06 PM   #29
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10
Default

What size Wire for 70 Amp at 107 Feet


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
I believe New Mexico is on the 2011 NEC...
I know it is old because they do stuff out here that would land you in jail in WI.
kenb1023 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2012, 06:09 PM   #30
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,132
Rewards Points: 2,056
Default

What size Wire for 70 Amp at 107 Feet


Quote:
Originally Posted by kenb1023 View Post
I know it is old because they do stuff out here that would land you in jail in WI.
It's not old, just not enforced.

stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Correct wire size? fatczech Electrical 6 12-18-2011 08:15 PM
What size breaker and wire ? baddley Electrical 6 02-15-2011 11:12 AM
What size wire to use running underground ms66cadillac Electrical 21 01-13-2011 11:14 AM
What size wire do I need? walnut777 Electrical 1 12-13-2010 06:41 PM
Wire size for distance Question fburke Electrical 4 07-28-2007 09:29 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.