Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-27-2012, 04:26 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 19
Share |
Default

What size Wire for 70 Amp at 107 Feet


I am running power to an out building for a hot tub. The breaker is 70A the distance from Main to sub is about 107 ft. Conduit is under ground 1 1/4" PVC EMT. What size wire should this be?
kenb1023 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2012, 04:26 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 19
Default

What size Wire for 70 Amp at 107 Feet


More detail

I am having a hot tub house put in. The structure is about 80 feet from the house with a 100 Amp Sub Panel with one 50 Amp circuit for the hot tub, one 20 amp circuit for 4 120vac outlets and one 15 amp circuit for interior and exterior lighting. The contractor doing the work is trying to tell me it is Ok to use #8 wire for the common on a 107 foot run fed from a 70 amp breaker in the main panel in the house. Everything I have read tells me that the two hots and the common need to be #4 wire and the ground a #8. What is right for this application? Every time I build something I always over kill it to ensure safety. Now that I am paying someone else to do it I know they are going to go to the minimums for cost but I donít want corners cut to save a few pennies.

One other item that has me concerned is the wire run is in 1 1/4" PVC conduit from the Hot tub house sub pane to the hose but then it is not in any conduit going from the house penetration to the main breaker panel. The distance is about 10 feet. Correct me if I am wrong but only Non Metallic Sheathed cable can run without conduit of some sort in the walls and attic space.

I plan to use #8 wire from the Sub panel to the hot tub in flex/water tight conduit. It is about a 10 foot run


If anyone has these answers and can let me know what code to reference I would greatly appreciate it.
kenb1023 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2012, 04:32 PM   #3
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,234
Default

What size Wire for 70 Amp at 107 Feet


Quote:
Originally Posted by kenb1023 View Post
More detail

I am having a hot tub house put in. The structure is about 80 feet from the house with a 100 Amp Sub Panel with one 50 Amp circuit for the hot tub, one 20 amp circuit for 4 120vac outlets and one 15 amp circuit for interior and exterior lighting. The contractor doing the work is trying to tell me it is Ok to use #8 wire for the common on a 107 foot run fed from a 70 amp breaker in the main panel in the house. Everything I have read tells me that the two hots and the common need to be #4 wire and the ground a #8. What is right for this application? Every time I build something I always over kill it to ensure safety. Now that I am paying someone else to do it I know they are going to go to the minimums for cost but I don’t want corners cut to save a few pennies.

One other item that has me concerned is the wire run is in 1 1/4" PVC conduit from the Hot tub house sub pane to the hose but then it is not in any conduit going from the house penetration to the main breaker panel. The distance is about 10 feet. Correct me if I am wrong but only Non Metallic Sheathed cable can run without conduit of some sort in the walls and attic space.

I plan to use #8 wire from the Sub panel to the hot tub in flex/water tight conduit. It is about a 10 foot run


If anyone has these answers and can let me know what code to reference I would greatly appreciate it.
Almost EVERY hot tub i've ever wired called for # 6 AWG MIN. for all the conductors...(two hots, neutral and grounding conductor) so check the hot tubs requirements first! Also, you better read article 680 for the rest of this installation and find out what code cycle of the NEC you are on... Two items I NEVER consider DIY, one being a pool, the other a hot tub.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by stickboy1375; 07-27-2012 at 04:37 PM.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2012, 04:42 PM   #4
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,669
Default

What size Wire for 70 Amp at 107 Feet


Are you telling us he is intending to run the THHN conductors in free air in the house to the main panel?
WHO is this "contractor"?
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (07-27-2012), stickboy1375 (07-27-2012)
Old 07-27-2012, 04:42 PM   #5
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,234
Default

What size Wire for 70 Amp at 107 Feet


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
Are you telling us he is intending to run the THHN conductors in free air in the house to the main panel?
WHO is this "contractor"?
Obviously not the electrical contractor....
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
Speedy Petey (07-27-2012)
Old 07-27-2012, 04:45 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 19
Default

What size Wire for 70 Amp at 107 Feet


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
Almost EVERY hot tub i've ever wired called for # 6 AWG MIN. for all the conductors...(two hots, neutral and grounding conductor) so check the hot tubs requirements first! Also, you better read article 680 for the rest of this installation and find out what code cycle of the NEC you are on... Two items I NEVER consider DIY, one being a pool, the other a hot tub.
The instructions did not call out for a wire size. All it had was a 50A breaker was needed. When I looked up 50A feeds in my electrical book it called for #8 in conduit under 40 feet or #6 Romex cable. For this short run It won't cost much more to run #6.

Do you have any advise on the othere questions?
kenb1023 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2012, 04:47 PM   #7
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,234
Default

What size Wire for 70 Amp at 107 Feet


Quote:
Originally Posted by kenb1023 View Post
The instructions did not call out for a wire size. All it had was a 50A breaker was needed. When I looked up 50A feeds in my electrical book it called for #8 in conduit under 40 feet or #6 Romex cable. For this short run It won't cost much more to run #6.

Do you have any advise on the othere questions?
Read article 680 of the NEC, hot tubs are involved, electrically speaking.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2012, 04:48 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 19
Default

What size Wire for 70 Amp at 107 Feet


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
Obviously not the electrical contractor....
The General going by the instructions of his electrican. I knew this wrong but all my electrical background is industrial/Navy
kenb1023 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2012, 04:51 PM   #9
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,234
Default

What size Wire for 70 Amp at 107 Feet


Quote:
Originally Posted by kenb1023 View Post
The General going by the instructions of his electrican. I knew this wrong but all my electrical background is industrial/Navy
It would depend on your total load....
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2012, 04:55 PM   #10
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,669
Default

What size Wire for 70 Amp at 107 Feet


Quote:
Originally Posted by kenb1023 View Post
The General going by the instructions of his electrican. I knew this wrong but all my electrical background is industrial/Navy
Why not hire a real electrician to do this job?

And you n ever answered my question about inside the house.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2012, 04:58 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 19
Default

What size Wire for 70 Amp at 107 Feet


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
Why not hire a real electrician to do this job?

And you n ever answered my question about inside the house.
I hired a general to do the build. I anticipated them bring in an electrician for the wiring.

As for in the house, they are not using any conduit at all. This I know is very wrong.
kenb1023 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2012, 04:59 PM   #12
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,234
Default

What size Wire for 70 Amp at 107 Feet


Quote:
Originally Posted by kenb1023 View Post
I hored a general to to the build. I anticipated them bring in an electrican for the wireing.

As for in the house they are not using any conduit at all. This I know is very wrong.
They have to be, 680.25 (A)
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by stickboy1375; 07-27-2012 at 05:01 PM.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2012, 05:07 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 19
Default

What size Wire for 70 Amp at 107 Feet


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
They have to be, 680.25 (A)
In the tub house everything is in conduit or Romex in the ceiling. In the main house (Actually the attached garage) they did not use any conduit. Just the three wires ran inside the wall cavity.
kenb1023 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2012, 05:09 PM   #14
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,234
Default

What size Wire for 70 Amp at 107 Feet


Quote:
Originally Posted by kenb1023 View Post
In the tub house everything is in conduit or Romex in the ceiling. In the main house (Actually the attached garage) they did not use any conduit. Just the three wires ran inside the wall cavity.
3 wires? you need four, sounds very hacked...
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2012, 05:11 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 19
Default

What size Wire for 70 Amp at 107 Feet


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
3 wires? you need four, sounds very hacked...
They say since the out building has it's own grounding rods the 4th is not needed.
kenb1023 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Correct wire size? fatczech Electrical 6 12-18-2011 08:15 PM
What size breaker and wire ? baddley Electrical 6 02-15-2011 11:12 AM
What size wire to use running underground ms66cadillac Electrical 21 01-13-2011 11:14 AM
What size wire do I need? walnut777 Electrical 1 12-13-2010 06:41 PM
Wire size for distance Question fburke Electrical 4 07-28-2007 09:29 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.