What Size Wire - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical


Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-02-2013, 08:34 PM   #1
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 79
Rewards Points: 75

What size wire

I'm remodeling n am adding a cooktop n a double oven. I was going to run 2 new seperate 6/3 wire for each. Is 6/3 ok or is it too much n I should go with 8/3 wire instead. I believe the cook top needs 30 amp n ovens 40 amp


ecocco1469 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2013, 08:42 PM   #2
PoleCat's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 1,967
Rewards Points: 1,616

What size wire

You can run the 30 amp in 10


"Ask me anything. If I don't know the answer I'll make something up."
PoleCat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2013, 08:43 PM   #3
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 1,345
Rewards Points: 1,028

What size wire

what does the manual say?
digitalplumber is just a name for use here, I am not a plumber!
digitalplumber is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to digitalplumber For This Useful Post:
Kyle_in_rure (08-02-2013)
Old 08-02-2013, 10:03 PM   #4
Civil Engineer
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Boston
Posts: 4,813
Rewards Points: 3,206

What size wire

#10 ==> 30A
#8 ==> 40a

If either of your units are 240 volt only (like some European models), you may only need 2 wire cable plus ground. As previously noted, read the manual carefully, follow directions on how to install.
Daniel Holzman is online now   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Sub Panel Wire Size? johnsas Electrical 4 08-29-2012 12:20 PM
Ground Location and Wire Size LHB_Texas Electrical 25 05-27-2011 10:38 AM
wire size for 160' feeder to subpanel steveski Electrical 3 05-21-2011 10:41 AM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 10:41 PM
Wire size and Breaker size for remodel ?? Skydmark1 Electrical 12 12-15-2007 06:00 PM

Top of Page | View New Posts