Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-02-2013, 07:34 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 79
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

What size wire


I'm remodeling n am adding a cooktop n a double oven. I was going to run 2 new seperate 6/3 wire for each. Is 6/3 ok or is it too much n I should go with 8/3 wire instead. I believe the cook top needs 30 amp n ovens 40 amp

ecocco1469 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2013, 07:42 PM   #2
Member
 
PoleCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 1,405
Rewards Points: 24
Default

What size wire


You can run the 30 amp in 10

__________________
"Ask me anything. If I don't know the answer I'll make something up."
PoleCat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2013, 07:43 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 1,080
Rewards Points: 4
Default

What size wire


what does the manual say?
__________________
digitalplumber is just a name for use here, I am not a plumber!
digitalplumber is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to digitalplumber For This Useful Post:
Kyle_in_rure (08-02-2013)
Old 08-02-2013, 09:03 PM   #4
Civil Engineer
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Boston
Posts: 4,211
Rewards Points: 18
Default

What size wire


#10 ==> 30A
#8 ==> 40a

If either of your units are 240 volt only (like some European models), you may only need 2 wire cable plus ground. As previously noted, read the manual carefully, follow directions on how to install.
Daniel Holzman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Sub Panel Wire Size? johnsas Electrical 4 08-29-2012 11:20 AM
Ground Location and Wire Size LHB_Texas Electrical 25 05-27-2011 09:38 AM
wire size for 160' feeder to subpanel steveski Electrical 3 05-21-2011 09:41 AM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 09:41 PM
Wire size and Breaker size for remodel ?? Skydmark1 Electrical 12 12-15-2007 05:00 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.