Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-01-2012, 06:00 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Indiana(Southeast)
Posts: 26
Share |
Default

What size wire


I am adding a detached garage. I will be adding maybe a couple of 110 v circuits for outlets and one or two circuits for lighting. No 220v are planned. What awg should i run from my house panel?
Mule98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 06:12 PM   #2
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

What size wire


How far away is the garage? If you only need two circuits you can use (probably) 12-3 w ground. If you need more than that you will need to install a sub panel. You are only allowed one feeder to the garage. The distance will dictate the size. I would consider installing a sub panel for future considerations
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 06:16 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Indiana(Southeast)
Posts: 26
Default

What size wire


Garage is 175 feet away. i plan on a small panel. will # 8-3/g suffice. also, i am using 1" pvc as conduit. can i use romex in this pvc
Mule98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 06:24 PM   #4
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

What size wire


Nope...no romex. You will need 4 wires; 2 hots, a neutral and a ground. You can use uf, but if you are installing conduit you may use individual wires, much easier to pull and accessable if you want to make a change in the future. You also have some issues you have to follow regarding grounding with the sub panel. Do you know what you need as far as amperage for the sub panel? That will help with the rest of the calculations.
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by Missouri Bound; 09-01-2012 at 06:33 PM.
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 06:32 PM   #5
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,052
Default

What size wire


You need two hots, a neutral and a ground.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
Missouri Bound (09-01-2012)
Old 09-01-2012, 06:33 PM   #6
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

What size wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
You need two hots, a neutral and a ground.
Thanks...and I fixed it.
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2012, 06:33 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Indiana(Southeast)
Posts: 26
Default

What size wire


i suppose then i should bury UF @24" Individual wires? Probably 8-10 duplexes and 6-8 flourescents( T-5 HDs i think) is all i need in garage.
what is the smallest sub panel on the market WILL #8 AWG WORK OR CAN I GET BY WITH #10 copper seems to be higher than gold!
Mule98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Sub Panel Wire Size? johnsas Electrical 4 08-29-2012 11:20 AM
Ground Location and Wire Size LHB_Texas Electrical 25 05-27-2011 09:38 AM
wire size for 160' feeder to subpanel steveski Electrical 3 05-21-2011 09:41 AM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 09:41 PM
Wire size and Breaker size for remodel ?? Skydmark1 Electrical 12 12-15-2007 05:00 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.