What Size And Type Wire - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-15-2013, 08:41 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

what size and type wire


I would like to run wire from a 200 amp panel at my house to a old barn about 250 ft away. I want it all underground and I'm going to use the barn as a workshop eventually. I'll have lights and several receptacles for power tools, all 110 volt no 220 volt, most powerful will be a standard table saw. How big a wire and what kind of wire will I need?
Will a 100 amp subpanel be enough inside the barn for receptacles and lights?

Advertisement

fyrchief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2013, 09:34 PM   #2
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,820
Rewards Points: 2,314
Default

what size and type wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by fyrchief View Post
I'll have lights and several receptacles for power tools, all 110 volt no 220 volt, most powerful will be a standard table saw. How big a wire and what kind of wire will I need?
It's about how many of those things will be on at the same time.

Quote:
Will a 100 amp subpanel be enough inside the barn for receptacles and lights?
Should be.

Advertisement

TarheelTerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 12:11 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

what size and type wire


Depends on how much power you will need. But from your explanation, I would say 100 amp is plenty big.

Google "voltage drop calculator" to figure your wire size including voltage drop.
The distance is sufficient to up size the wire.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 03:59 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 206
Rewards Points: 150
Default

what size and type wire


like jv said you'll have to figure for voltage drop since it is such a long run. but while i was doing it , i would make it 240 volt. you may want buy a nice sized air compressor later.if ya don't you'll always have extra.what kinda sub panel were ya going to buy? i kinda like GE , but SQUARE D is top of the line in my opinon.
circuitman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 06:15 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 772
Rewards Points: 500
Default

what size and type wire


i second the 240 volt panel. by the time you dig the trench, etc., it is pretty damn cheap to add the additional conductor.

the voltage drop is a function of how many amps you will actually be drawing. if you have 100 amps running at once (unlikely), you'll need something like a 250 kcmil copper conductor. if maximum is 60 amp, you could get by with a #2/0 awg. the cost difference between those conductor sizes is significant.

the above assumes thwn or similar cable type. uf cable uses different ampacities. what kind of cable are you looking to use.
itsnotrequired is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 07:05 AM   #6
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,168
Rewards Points: 2,128
Default

what size and type wire


Typical job would be #2 XHHW AL. backed by a 90 amp breaker... sight unseen of course...

Advertisement

stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wire size and type to use In2dux Electrical 5 09-29-2012 04:02 PM
What size and type wire should I use? Iman Electrical 4 06-20-2010 02:57 AM
Size and type of entrance wire for 200A? Beemer533 Electrical 7 03-15-2010 11:54 PM
Size of Wire & type of wire agman Electrical 6 11-10-2009 09:13 PM
Please confirm wire size and type for amperage. wantsomegetsome Electrical 14 05-07-2009 06:49 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts