Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-05-2010, 04:40 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Sacramento CA
Posts: 257
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

What Size SJ Cord?


I have a 60 gal 3.2hp 240v compressor I need to wire. The motor says 'FLA: 15.' The compressor will live about 10' from the receptacle, so the power cord will be about 15'.

Can I use 12/3 SJ cable for this or do I need 10/3?

The circuit will be protected by a 30a breaker.

mopowers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 04:56 PM   #2
WDR
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 94
Rewards Points: 0
Default

What Size SJ Cord?


I think 12 gauge would be plenty,especially for 15 feet. If you have 10 gauge available there would not be much of a reason not to use it, also if you felt like it SOOW is a tougher cord.

WDR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 05:00 PM   #3
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 0
Default

What Size SJ Cord?


to add to WDR's post:


S - Service

J - Junior - Designates 300 Volt
cable rather than 600 Volts.

O - Oil Resistant Conductors

O - Oil Resistant Jacket

W - Water Resistant

use that information to determine if you might actually need either of the "O"'s or the "W".
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 06:30 PM   #4
liscenced electrician
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Oregon coast
Posts: 983
Rewards Points: 0
Default

What Size SJ Cord?


12 is fine
jimmy21 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 07:31 PM   #5
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 0
Default

What Size SJ Cord?


Quote:
Originally Posted by mopowers View Post
I have a 60 gal 3.2hp 240v compressor I need to wire. The motor says 'FLA: 15.' The compressor will live about 10' from the receptacle, so the power cord will be about 15'.

Can I use 12/3 SJ cable for this or do I need 10/3?

The circuit will be protected by a 30a breaker.
The 12/3 will be fine however is this will be plug type or hardwired ? if plug type you only can limited to 20 amp max breaker size hardwired verison have diffrent codes to deal with it so they have some leeway but not much.

Merci.
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2010, 10:12 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Sacramento CA
Posts: 257
Rewards Points: 0
Default

What Size SJ Cord?


Quote:
Originally Posted by frenchelectrican View Post
The 12/3 will be fine however is this will be plug type or hardwired ? if plug type you only can limited to 20 amp max breaker size hardwired verison have diffrent codes to deal with it so they have some leeway but not much.

Merci.
Marc
I will be installing a plug, so I can use the receptacle for my welder as as well. I didn't think this would be a problem since my dryer is basically the same thing. The dryer is on a 30a circuit as well.

Is there a problem using 12/3 SJ or SW cord on a 30a circuit? I always thought you needed to size cable according to the breaker size. So wouldn't a 30a circuit require the compressor to have a 10g power cord going to the receptacle?
mopowers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2010, 04:21 PM   #7
WDR
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 94
Rewards Points: 0
Default

What Size SJ Cord?


I just noticed you said you were planning on using a 30 amp breaker, in that case I would use the # 10 cable.
WDR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2010, 04:51 PM   #8
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,826
Rewards Points: 0
Default

What Size SJ Cord?


Quote:
Originally Posted by mopowers View Post

Is there a problem using 12/3 SJ or SW cord on a 30a circuit? I always thought you needed to size cable according to the breaker size. So wouldn't a 30a circuit require the compressor to have a 10g power cord going to the receptacle?
Absolutely not. The cord is not the circuit. That is like saying a lamp would need a #12ga cord if it were plugged into a 20A general use circuit.

The motor/appliance cord is sized to the load. The circuit conductors/cable are sized to the circuit.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
a7ecorsair (10-07-2010), frenchelectrican (10-06-2010), mopowers (10-06-2010)
Old 10-06-2010, 10:35 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Sacramento CA
Posts: 257
Rewards Points: 0
Default

What Size SJ Cord?


Thanks everyone! It makes sense now. The circuit's wire is sized for the breaker because there is a 'potential' to draw up to how ever many amps the breaker is. But since the motor is only rated at 15 FLA, it only has the potential to draw 15 amps, so the motor's power cord only needs to be able to handle 15 amps.

I guess I'll go with 12/3 then, or if the Home depot by my house doesn't have that, then I'll go with 10/3.

mopowers is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ceiling power cord kerry42 Electrical 18 11-03-2009 03:58 PM
Is my extension cord OK? MT Stringer Electrical 4 10-20-2009 07:25 AM
Ele hot water tank and welder sharing circuit wazeaz Electrical 68 03-19-2008 07:17 PM
Extension Cord Safety - My Husband's theory Leah Frances Electrical 18 02-09-2008 06:06 PM
safe way to add extension to power cord sil Electrical 7 10-18-2007 09:58 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.