Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-18-2008, 07:12 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 729
Rewards Points: 500
Default

What size of panel for a 1 family house


I have a small one family home, (1600 sq ft) including the basement. I currently have a 100 amp panel, and I am wondering if I need a larger one. I am running out of room on the panel, and have replaced certain breakers already with tandems. What's the usual size of panel for this size of home? Thanks

helpless handyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2008, 07:16 PM   #2
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

What size of panel for a 1 family house


All depends on the load, not the number of circuits, you can always add a sub-panel, but you really need to do a load calc to see what size service you really need... or future plans...

chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2008, 07:17 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

What size of panel for a 1 family house


The standard in AZ is 200 amp, 40 space.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2008, 07:49 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 729
Rewards Points: 500
Default

What size of panel for a 1 family house


Thanks guys, whats the ball park figure to upgrade to a 200 amp? Also, how hard would it be to install a subpanel? I have done alot of wiring recently. Thanks!
helpless handyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2008, 07:50 PM   #5
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

What size of panel for a 1 family house


Quote:
Originally Posted by 220/221 View Post
The standard in AZ is 200 amp, 40 space.

You would seriously install a 200 amp service for a 1200 sq ft house?
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2008, 07:54 PM   #6
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,864
Rewards Points: 2,032
Default

What size of panel for a 1 family house


Quote:
Originally Posted by chris75 View Post
You would seriously install a 200 amp service for a 1200 sq ft house?
ABSOLUTELY!

I have not installed a 100A panel in a new house in years. I see NO reason for it. NONE at all. For what? $300 bucks???

Besides, he said 1600'/sq.


HH, the prices varies greatly by area. I would say $1800 on the LOW side, and $3500 on the very high side (like So Cal).
It looks like $1900-$2300 is a rough average.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2008, 07:59 PM   #7
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

What size of panel for a 1 family house


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
ABSOLUTELY!

I have not installed a 100A panel in a new house in years. I see NO reason for it. NONE at all. For what? $300 bucks???

Besides, he said 1600'/sq.


HH, the prices varies greatly by area. I would say $1800 on the LOW side, and $3500 on the very high side (like So Cal).
It looks like $1900-$2300 is a rough average.
Guess if its not your money why not? I've done some small cottages that a 200 is a complete joke and waste of materials no matter the minimal cost difference, that was my only point.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2008, 08:08 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

What size of panel for a 1 family house


Supply and demand. A 200 amp 40 space panel is cheaper here than a 125/20.

I have changed MANY services that had been changed once already. Might as well plan ahead. It is not much more expensive. When they want to add a room, pool, welder, RV Recep, A/C....whatever, it's ready.

When you get older you will start thinking more of the future.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2008, 08:13 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 729
Rewards Points: 500
Default

What size of panel for a 1 family house


Thanks guys, the reason I am asking is because like I mention before, running out of space. I have one breaker left, and need to do the basement. I will have a laundry room, and a play room for the kids. Maybe a subpanel would also work? How hard is to install a subpanel? Thanks
helpless handyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2008, 08:23 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

What size of panel for a 1 family house


Quote:
How hard is to install a subpanel?
It is easier than changing out the service but you only have 100 amps to work with.

AC?
Electric range?
WH?
Dryer?

What do you have?
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2008, 08:56 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 729
Rewards Points: 500
Default

What size of panel for a 1 family house


Okay, I have 2 a/c in the main floor, thru the wall units on there own circuits. Dryer will most likely be a gas one. The range is a gas one as well. The 3 bedrooms will have window a/c's. Bathroom has 2 seperate circuits, one for the gfci, and the other another gfci for the whirlpoot tub. The kitchen has 4 circuits, (1) refirg, (1) microwave, (1) 2 gfci, and (1) 2 more gfci. Let me know what else you need to know? Thanks
helpless handyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2008, 11:45 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

What size of panel for a 1 family house


Is your panel inside?

Are the cables exposed?

Pics?

You might be fine just installing a new panel with more space.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2008, 11:33 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,508
Rewards Points: 2,004
Default

What size of panel for a 1 family house


The 200 amp new main panel would be my choice. Adding a sub panel to the existing 100 amp is still 100 amp.
1600 sq feet plus basement. How many square feet total? While a sub panel may be easier to install, I recommend the upgrade. You can do this job yourself if you feel qualified and have basic knowledge as you have indicated. I strongly recommend you pull a homeowners permit and get feedback from the AHJ in your area. Should you decide to do it yourself let us know and we can help guide you through.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2008, 12:35 PM   #14
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

What size of panel for a 1 family house


Okay, I did a quick demand load for your house with these specs, correct me if anything is wrong or missing...

1600 sq.ft

Fridge
Dishwasher
Microwave
(2) AC Wall Units
1/2 HP Well Pump
1/2 HP Jacuzzi

Gas Dryer
Gas Range
Gas Furnace ??? need this info

but with this info I came up with a demand load of 60 amps, so unless you have big plans for your house I wouldn't waste my money upgrading your service... unless you feel the need, or want. IMO, if it were my house and I DID have big plans in the future, I would just change the panel to a 200 amp and worry about the service later, but if you only adding a few circuits for just need some extra space then just add a sub-panel and be done with it.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2008, 08:24 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 729
Rewards Points: 500
Default

What size of panel for a 1 family house


Thanks so much for all you guys, that took your valuable time on answering my post. I will let you guys know on what I decide on. Thanks again

helpless handyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dumpster size for a house remodel? ashley General DIY Discussions 16 05-13-2011 09:19 AM
Size of whole house fan needed Doug Crf General DIY Discussions 20 02-25-2011 11:29 PM
Multiple Sub Panel Installation Handyman2007 Electrical 26 12-31-2007 05:47 PM
Sub panel size sluggermike Electrical 24 11-11-2007 08:34 PM
Complete AC installation in Old Capitol Hill Row House jacko10 HVAC 0 09-18-2007 05:42 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.