What Size Breaker? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-14-2009, 05:48 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Sacramento CA
Posts: 257
Rewards Points: 250
Default

What size breaker?


What size break is needed to run a 175amp 220v MIG welder? Wouls a 30amp breaker work?

Advertisement

mopowers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2009, 05:51 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

What size breaker?


Make and model number? Nameplate info?

Advertisement

jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2009, 06:23 PM   #3
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Rewards Points: 500
Post

What size breaker?


10 Awg 30 amp breaker. ... A 175-180 amp MIG machine draws 19.5A max.
300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2009, 06:29 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Sacramento CA
Posts: 257
Rewards Points: 250
Default

What size breaker?


It's a Lincoln 175amp MIG. I don't have the welder with me.
mopowers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2009, 06:32 PM   #5
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,571
Rewards Points: 2,038
Default

What size breaker?


Quote:
Originally Posted by mopowers View Post
What size break is needed to run a 175amp 220v MIG welder? Wouls a 30amp breaker work?
Depends on the particular welder. The owner's manual will almost always tell you exactly what the recommended breaker and wire sizes are. Use them. A Millermatic 212 (150A machine) wants a 40A breaker on #10 wire. A Millermatic 251 (200A machine) wants a 60A breaker on #8 wire. Note that the wire size allowed is smaller than that normally permitted for the breaker - this is because the machine is duty cycle limited and functions as its own overload protection, like a thermally protected motor. The breaker essentially provides only short circuit protection, not overload. If you want to use the welder receptacle for anything else in the future, go ahead and run wire that is fully sized for the breaker instead.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2009, 09:41 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

What size breaker?


Seems to me from previous posts that welders may temporarily draw more current than the steady-state breaker rating of 20A or 30A or whatever, but the trip curves of most breakers tolerates this.

These welders, like some chop saws, are pushing the limits of panel breakers. They want to advertise more welding power but not have the buyer put up with the expense of new wiring.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2009, 08:22 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Sacramento CA
Posts: 257
Rewards Points: 250
Default

What size breaker?


Well, I found the owner's manual and it says it recommends a 40 amp breaker and draws about 20 amps.

What happens if I run it on a 30 amp breaker?
mopowers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2009, 08:33 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

What size breaker?


Quote:
Originally Posted by mopowers View Post
Well, I found the owner's manual and it says it recommends a 40 amp breaker and draws about 20 amps.

What happens if I run it on a 30 amp breaker?
If you do short welds and allow the breaker to cool, you might get away with it. It also depends on the trip curve for your 30A. Post a link to your candidate breaker.

Your wire resistance will also provide some current limiting.

If you know the power in your arc you can work out the expected current drawn at the constant 220v.

Last edited by Yoyizit; 08-16-2009 at 08:43 PM.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2009, 03:18 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Sacramento CA
Posts: 257
Rewards Points: 250
Default

What size breaker?


Here is the breaker the electrician put in.

http://www.lowes.com/lowes/lkn?actio...0CP&lpage=none

It's a double pole 30 amp. He used #10 wire.
mopowers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2009, 03:37 PM   #10
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Rewards Points: 500
Post

What size breaker?


Quote:
Originally Posted by mopowers View Post
Here is the breaker the electrician put in.

http://www.lowes.com/lowes/lkn?actio...0CP&lpage=none

It's a double pole 30 amp. He used #10 wire.
Should be good. Post #3
300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2009, 04:26 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Sacramento CA
Posts: 257
Rewards Points: 250
Default

What size breaker?


Quote:
Originally Posted by 300zx View Post
Should be good. Post #3
Even though Lincoln recommends a 40 amp breaker?
mopowers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2009, 04:58 PM   #12
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Rewards Points: 500
Default

What size breaker?


Quote:
Originally Posted by mopowers View Post
Even though Lincoln recommends a 40 amp breaker?
draws 19.5A max why put on 40 amp with 10 wire?
300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2009, 05:17 PM   #13
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Rewards Points: 500
Default

What size breaker?


To bad you don't have a Federal Pacific Electric panel .You would never have to worry about it tripping.(Just Joking) I think you will be good.Will trip breaker if any problems.
300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2009, 07:00 PM   #14
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,219
Rewards Points: 2,408
Default

What size breaker?


Don't you just love arc welders....
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie

Last edited by Stubbie; 08-17-2009 at 10:00 PM. Reason: removed long winded post
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2009, 12:47 AM   #15
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,219
Rewards Points: 2,408
Lightbulb

What size breaker?


Quote:
Originally Posted by mopowers View Post
Well, I found the owner's manual and it says it recommends a 40 amp breaker and draws about 20 amps.

What happens if I run it on a 30 amp breaker?

That's fine. The 40 amp breaker is simply the maximum breaker allowed. There is no code requirement that says you can't go to a lower amperage breaker. The main thing is that the breaker holds when you strike the arc and load the welder.

The branch circuit conductor ampacity must not be less than nameplate I-eff (effective current) or the rated primary current (I-Max) times the duty cycle factor of table 630.11(A). This gives you minimum ampacity. You then check table 310.16 for a wire in conduit or a cable assembly that is not less than that ampacity. You then take the table value of the conductors ampacity and multiply it by 2 to reach the maximum circuit breaker rating for the branch circuit conductors. If this value is not more than 200% (2x) of the I-max or rated primary current shown on the welder nameplate then the welder does not require integral (separate) ocpd.

40 amps max breaker for the branch circuit conductors suggests 20 amp I-eff or 20 amps for supply conductors after adjustments for duty cycle using primary rated current from the nameplate. 14 awg copper would be allowed to be used for this arc welder on a maximum 40 amp breaker unless specified by the manufacturer to be different.

In general for DIY residential use ... use the I-max (rated primary current) from the nameplate without adjustments to size your branch circuit conductors then stick the appropriate breaker in the panel. 50 amp I-eff or 50 amp rated primary current (I-max) = #8 awg copper in conduit or #6 nm-b cable with 50 or 60 amp breaker. This is just a rule of thumb used by many to avoid a mistake trying to follow art. 630.

Advertisement

__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie

Last edited by Stubbie; 08-18-2009 at 01:46 AM.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What size breaker Ineedhelp2009 Electrical 7 05-20-2009 07:44 PM
wire & breaker size rcassidy Electrical 8 02-17-2009 09:37 PM
Wire size and breaker discrepancy Randell Tarin Electrical 22 04-10-2008 08:03 PM
Generator Safety Switch Help - Breaker Size? limey_swindon Electrical 3 01-09-2008 12:40 PM
Wire size and Breaker size for remodel ?? Skydmark1 Electrical 12 12-15-2007 06:00 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts