Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-12-2010, 07:12 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 14
Share |
Default

What size braker should I use?


I am running a new outlet for my plasma cutter (see details below). I had been using it on a regular outlet, but it would often trip the breaker so I am now running a new outlet for it. I bought a new plug for the plasma, receptacle, and I bought some 12-2 wire. I was in a hurry and couldn't find anyone at Lowes that was worth a hoot to ask about a breaker. What would you guys recommend?



Plasma details:
Quote:
This machine has exactly the same parameters as the Plasma-Tec40SV with an additional feature that allows it to operate on 90 to 260 volts AC single phase, which makes it very versatile. As a worst case test we connected it to 110volts through a common 6 ft extension cord and was able to cut 1/4" steel. Do to it's efficiency it is useful even in a worst case power situation. It only weighs 20 lbs. and is about the size of a small breadbox. Just tote it around and plug it in anywhere... your in "go-mode" with this machine!

chopshop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2010, 07:20 PM   #2
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 13,714
Default

What size braker should I use?


What does the plate on the equipment state?

gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2010, 07:21 PM   #3
Electrician
 
Proby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 818
Default

What size braker should I use?


The 40SV lists the following:

Quote:
40 Amp, 220 Volt, Single Phase, Input Current Maximum: 22 Amps, Duty-Cycle: 60% at Full Power, 100% at Three Quarter Power


What type of plug was originally on the unit? I need better information, does the unit have a metal plate with ratings on it?
__________________
Anything fun is either illegal, immoral, or fattening.
Proby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2010, 07:39 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 14
Default

What size braker should I use?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Proby View Post
The 40SV lists the following:



What type of plug was originally on the unit? I need better information, does the unit have a metal plate with ratings on it?

When I bought it it didn't have one since you could pick, I just put a standard 110 plug on. Now I want to change.
chopshop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2010, 07:45 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 14
Default

What size braker should I use?


chopshop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2010, 10:44 PM   #6
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

What size braker should I use?


I read the nameplate it say 5.1 KVA so you will need 30 amp breaker at 240 volts { two pole breaker }

I know the unit is rated at 21 amps per nameplate but if the unit have 30 amp 240 volt plug then you will need 30 amp breaker for this one.

Merci.
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2010, 11:12 PM   #7
Electrician
 
Proby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 818
Default

What size braker should I use?


chopshop, what type of plug did you buy?

You'll need #10 wire to use along with a 30amp receptacle and matching plug for the plasma cutter.
__________________
Anything fun is either illegal, immoral, or fattening.
Proby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2010, 11:52 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 14
Default

What size braker should I use?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Proby View Post
chopshop, what type of plug did you buy?

You'll need #10 wire to use along with a 30amp receptacle and matching plug for the plasma cutter.
I think it's a 6-20r.
chopshop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2010, 12:54 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

What size braker should I use?


Quote:
Originally Posted by chopshop View Post
[SIZE=2]I had been using it on a regular outlet, but it would often trip the breaker
What duty cycle were you running?
How much off time between usages?
These values will give you some idea of how much bigger you have to go.

Some welders get incredible peak power and high average power out of a wall outlet but it is a close match between the breaker trip curve and duty cycle and off times and the length/gauge of the connecting cord. The manufs seem to be making mostly true assumptions about resi. breakers.

Last edited by Yoyizit; 08-13-2010 at 12:59 PM.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2010, 12:59 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 14
Default

What size braker should I use?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoyizit View Post
What duty cycle were you running? How much off time between usages? These values will give you some idea of how much bigger you have to go.
I am not sure, it was at my shop. Anytime someone was using somthing when the plasma was running it would trip. I moved out of the shop and working out of my basement and garage.
chopshop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2010, 05:48 PM   #11
Electrician
 
Proby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 818
Default

What size braker should I use?


So you are going to need to get #10 wire, a 30A plug, and a 30A receptacle.
__________________
Anything fun is either illegal, immoral, or fattening.
Proby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2010, 09:06 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

What size braker should I use?


From your posted diagram,
Quote:
Originally Posted by chopshop View Post
this thing draws current in pulses.

Breakers respond to RMS values, mostly. If you need to do troubleshooting with your setup you will need an ammeter that reads "true RMS".

Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Size of whole house fan needed Doug Crf General DIY Discussions 20 02-25-2011 11:29 PM
Determining Boot/Register Size Earnie HVAC 15 12-31-2009 05:00 PM
Building a patio cover...span and size of lumber Q's jongordo8 Building & Construction 1 08-30-2009 12:08 AM
pre-hung door, 32x80 is that door size or total size? RyanD Building & Construction 3 06-28-2009 10:33 PM
Room size X floor tile size deck hand Flooring 4 04-08-2009 04:42 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.