Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-23-2012, 09:15 PM   #16
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,875
Share |
Default

What SE Wire (new service)


Just saw your last post. Coops are owned by the customers ... Guess you can do anything you want ...

As Kbsparky said 4/0 aluminum hots, 2/0 neutral and #4 ground. Do you know your burial depth?

Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2012, 09:27 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 127
Default

What SE Wire (new service)


i was going to go atleast 18inches depth (possibly 24inch) as I will be doing the trenching myself with a trencher. Don't know that it would make a difference as I am going to run it through 2in pvc conduit.
Does this seem like a good plan?
I have an electrician that is a friend of ours that is going to do the actual hookup, and hookup our ac. However I want to make sure that this setup will work.

Last edited by no_Wedge; 08-23-2012 at 09:32 PM.
no_Wedge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2012, 09:44 PM   #18
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,875
Default

What SE Wire (new service)


Yes it makes a difference ...Go 24 inches minimum to be safe. 2 inch pvc is fine.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2012, 09:47 PM   #19
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,875
Default

What SE Wire (new service)


Does the panel in the MH have a main breaker ?
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2012, 10:19 PM   #20
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,782
Default

What SE Wire (new service)


Quote:
Originally Posted by no_Wedge View Post
I have an electrician that is a friend of ours that is going to do the actual hookup, and hookup our ac. However I want to make sure that this setup will work.
Funny. I think you are realizing that the "hook ups" are the easy part, and the part you want to do is the hard/technical part.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2012, 11:58 AM   #21
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,692
Default

What SE Wire (new service)


Just have the coop install a pole close to the home and then install the disconnect there.
That's how it is done in my area.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2012, 05:11 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 127
Default

What SE Wire (new service)


Quote:
Originally Posted by stubie View Post
Does the panel in the MH have a main breaker ?
yes it has this box
http://www.homedepot.com/buy/electri...l#.UDf4KcFlSSo

with a 200 amp 22KA circuit breaker.

I noticed that all the current old main wires, are 2/0 gauge. This would be too small for this type of application, would it not?
no_Wedge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2012, 05:20 PM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Md/Pa
Posts: 944
Default

What SE Wire (new service)


Quote:
Originally Posted by no_Wedge View Post
I noticed that all the current old main wires, are 2/0 gauge. This would be too small for this type of application, would it not?
Are these customer wires or coop wires?
zappa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2012, 05:26 PM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 127
Default

What SE Wire (new service)


Quote:
Originally Posted by zappa View Post
Are these customer wires or coop wires?
these are the previous owners wires. not the coop.
no_Wedge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2012, 05:26 PM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 127
Default

What SE Wire (new service)


Quote:
Originally Posted by zappa View Post
Are these customer wires or coop wires?
these are the previous owners wires the ones that are still connected in the house panel. not the coop.
no_Wedge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2012, 05:28 PM   #26
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Md/Pa
Posts: 944
Default

What SE Wire (new service)


Yeah, too small. Is it even a 200 amp panel?

Silly me....I see you mentioned a 200 amp panel.

Last edited by zappa; 08-24-2012 at 05:34 PM.
zappa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2012, 06:10 PM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 127
Default

What SE Wire (new service)


ok so how does this sound to everyone.
run 2-4/0 hots, 1-2/0 neutral, and a #4 copper ground from the main disconnect to the house's main panel in 2" conduit buried at 24" deep.
Am I correct in stating that the ground doesn't need a rod of it's own since it is connected to the disconnect at the pole?
no_Wedge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2012, 10:13 PM   #28
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,875
Default

What SE Wire (new service)


No those are aluminum sizes the original wires are probably copper.

We use a certain table for main power feeders

For 200 amps and Aluminum mobile home feeder use 4/0 hots, 2/0 neutral and #4 ground
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2012, 10:18 PM   #29
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

What SE Wire (new service)


deleted

__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
service entrance wire michaeljack Electrical 4 10-27-2011 12:25 PM
ceiling fan wicked97 Electrical 4 08-21-2011 08:12 AM
New upgraded 200A service wire connections WillK Electrical 1 04-28-2011 02:02 PM
Direct burial wire for 100 amp service caugen Electrical 1 11-19-2010 01:41 PM
Can I wire a new panel without service or run a "big" subpanel? tigereye Electrical 7 03-03-2009 04:00 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.