Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-22-2012, 10:35 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 127
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

What SE Wire (new service)


we are setting up our newly placed manufactured home, and are going to run the service entry wire ourselves. The meter will be a single phase, however the connection on the house states 3 phase 4 wire 60hz and 200amp. I was wondering if it was easy for an electrician to convert this.
Also I am wondering what is the best type of wire to use that won't break the bank. It will be about 200 feet meter to house, so is it best just to run 3 individual wires to the house? Also what size conduit?

no_Wedge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2012, 10:58 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,788
Rewards Points: 8
Default

What SE Wire (new service)


I'm pretty sure it does not say 3 phase.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2012, 11:22 PM   #3
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,089
Rewards Points: 0
Default

What SE Wire (new service)


If you have so many uncertainties, why do this yourself?
stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2012, 06:16 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 127
Rewards Points: 0
Default

What SE Wire (new service)


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
I'm pretty sure it does not say 3 phase.
it says 3 pole actually
3pole 4wire 60Hz 200 amp

and i'm not connecting the wires to the house , I am just wanting to run the cable as it would cost a lot more for someone else to run it.
no_Wedge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2012, 06:53 AM   #5
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,030
Rewards Points: 0
Default

What SE Wire (new service)


You plan on running a service over 660 feet? You need the POCO to install a transformer closer to the house.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2012, 10:18 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,506
Rewards Points: 0
Default

What SE Wire (new service)


Quote:
Originally Posted by no_Wedge View Post
it says 3 pole actually
3pole 4wire 60Hz 200 amp

and i'm not connecting the wires to the house , I am just wanting to run the cable as it would cost a lot more for someone else to run it.
That makes much more sense and it is still not 3 phase.
When you say "manufactured" what exactly do you mean?
Are they bringing in sections of the house to be erected on site? Or are they rolling it onto the property.
There is a big difference between a trailer and a manufactured or pre-fabed home. A very big difference.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2012, 07:42 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 127
Rewards Points: 0
Default

What SE Wire (new service)


it's not modular, it's a solitaire mobile home, and it's already been set in place.

and no it's not over 660 feet. It's about 200 feet from the transformer they are installing.
no_Wedge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2012, 07:50 PM   #8
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 0
Default

What SE Wire (new service)


Does this help? Wire ampacity chart
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2012, 08:00 PM   #9
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,012
Rewards Points: 2
Default

What SE Wire (new service)


Quote:
Originally Posted by no_Wedge View Post
we are setting up our newly placed manufactured home, and are going to run the service entry wire ourselves. The meter will be a single phase, however the connection on the house states 3 phase 4 wire 60hz and 200amp. I was wondering if it was easy for an electrician to convert this.
Also I am wondering what is the best type of wire to use that won't break the bank. It will be about 200 feet meter to house, so is it best just to run 3 individual wires to the house? Also what size conduit?

In order to answer this correctly I want to be sure of what you have by saying mobile home. So I'm attaching a image. tell us if that is what you mean by mobile home.

Some more questions ..

Pad mount transformer or up on a pole?



Where is the service equipment (main disconnect enclosure) and meter ? Usually for a mobile home there is a pedestal approx. 30 feet from the home then you run a feeder from that to the distribution panel in the home.

Last edited by Stubbie; 08-23-2012 at 08:04 PM.
Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2012, 08:04 PM   #10
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 0
Default

What SE Wire (new service)


Mobile homes require the service equipment to be mounted away from the home -- usually on a separate pedestal. You can NOT mount the meter box on the house.**

The service pedestal must be within 30 feet of the exterior of the home.

If your meter and service disconnect is further away from that, then you have to install a separate disconnect box within the required 30 feet.

From there, you will need to use a 4-wire feeder into the home. Aluminum "mobile home feeder" cable is usually sufficient, with #4/0 hot conductors, and #2/0 neutral, and a #4 ground wire. All the conductors must be insulated.

This stuff may also be referred by some as "URD" cable.

**There are exceptions to this rule if the house is set upon a permanent foundation, and is reclassified as a "manufactured" or "modular" home.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2012, 08:18 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 127
Rewards Points: 0
Default

What SE Wire (new service)


Stubie that is what i mean by mobile ( it is placed on a cinderblock foundation). The power company has the transformer on the pole, and will be installing the main disconnect with meter on the same pole (which is ~200 feet of wire) to the house pane.

Last edited by no_Wedge; 08-23-2012 at 08:22 PM.
no_Wedge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2012, 08:45 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 127
Rewards Points: 0
Default

What SE Wire (new service)


can't you run the wire directly from the breaker at the pole to the mobile home without another breaker? maybe using 4 wire feeder?
like this part number 540-6800J
no_Wedge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2012, 08:54 PM   #13
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,826
Rewards Points: 0
Default

What SE Wire (new service)


Quote:
Originally Posted by no_Wedge View Post
can't you run the wire directly from the breaker at the pole to the mobile home without another breaker? maybe using 4 wire feeder?
like this part number 540-6800J
You HAVE to run a 4-wire feeder to a mobile home.

Is this REALLY a place you should be cheaping out on??? Why not just let your electrician do this so it will be done right?
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (08-23-2012), Jim Port (08-23-2012)
Old 08-23-2012, 09:09 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 127
Rewards Points: 0
Default

What SE Wire (new service)


well my electric is on a coop, and there are no regulations out here past the meter. what I am asking, is if it would be necessary to add another disconnect box near the house?
Or just run the 2 hots 1 neutral, and 1 ground from the disconnect at the pole?
no_Wedge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2012, 09:10 PM   #15
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,012
Rewards Points: 2
Default

What SE Wire (new service)


Quote:
Originally Posted by no_Wedge View Post
can't you run the wire directly from the breaker at the pole to the mobile home without another breaker? maybe using 4 wire feeder?
like this part number 540-6800J

There is more to this than you might think. Considering an electrician is a good idea. He can contract the trenching as I'm assuming your going underground.

Anyway use aluminum wire called mobile home feeder. It's 4 wires as KBSparky has already outlined.

As for going directly from the meter and disconnect on the pole to the panel in the mobile home I don't think they will let you. Have you talked to the inspectors about what is required for your situation ?

Stubbie is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
service entrance wire michaeljack Electrical 4 10-27-2011 12:25 PM
ceiling fan wicked97 Electrical 4 08-21-2011 08:12 AM
New upgraded 200A service wire connections WillK Electrical 1 04-28-2011 02:02 PM
Direct burial wire for 100 amp service caugen Electrical 1 11-19-2010 01:41 PM
Can I wire a new panel without service or run a "big" subpanel? tigereye Electrical 7 03-03-2009 04:00 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.