Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-21-2012, 01:26 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: NJ
Posts: 433
Share |
Default

What PVC cement should I use for 3" schedule 80 conduit?


Will this stuff work for 3" schedule 80 conduit? http://www.oatey.com/Channel/Shared/...ar+Cement.html

No primer, right?

benjamincall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2012, 04:18 PM   #2
liscenced electrician
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Oregon coast
Posts: 983
Default

What PVC cement should I use for 3" schedule 80 conduit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by benjamincall View Post
Will this stuff work for 3" schedule 80 conduit? http://www.oatey.com/Channel/Shared/...ar+Cement.html

No primer, right?
Quote:

Heavy Duty Clear cement for use on all schedules and classes PVC pipe and fitting up to 12 diameter with interference fit, up to 18 for non-pressure.
Taken right off your link. Yes its good. No primer needed

jimmy21 is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jimmy21 For This Useful Post:
benjamincall (03-22-2012)
Old 03-22-2012, 06:46 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: NJ
Posts: 433
Default

What PVC cement should I use for 3" schedule 80 conduit?


Thanks. I know Carlon makes a cement specifically for conduit, so I wanted to make sure that statement from Oatey encompassed the grey stuff. On a side note, isn't a cable pull satisfying, especially when you cover a long distance?

Last edited by benjamincall; 03-22-2012 at 06:50 AM.
benjamincall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2012, 08:27 AM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

What PVC cement should I use for 3" schedule 80 conduit?


I use primer not sure it helps but just habit and it's what I have always done.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Attaching 2" Schedule PVC conduit to the bottom of a mobile home rrolleston Electrical 2 01-25-2012 07:54 PM
safety near house power line conduit ChrisJJ Painting 7 08-13-2010 09:44 AM
How to plug unwanted and leaking conduit? gernith General DIY Discussions 6 08-08-2010 12:09 PM
Sheathing/siding around conduit destroyer427 Building & Construction 1 10-20-2009 05:25 PM
ground wire in rigid conduit measure thrice Electrical 3 02-03-2009 05:25 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.