Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-26-2008, 06:22 PM   #16
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Share |
Default

What kind of breaker


Well said Jamie.

And thanks for reporting. I quoted the message thinking it might get deleted, so others could see the ignorance.

__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2008, 06:29 PM   #17
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Default

What kind of breaker


Quote:
Originally Posted by TaazKareem View Post
...It would be easier to attach the electrical wire beforehand right?
What do you mean?


P.S. I know you said a friend of yours would be doing the hookup, but a word of advise/rememberance. The mounting screw for a Pushomatic screws into the main busbar. Shut the main breaker off to 'kill' the entire house before installing the new breaker. Verify with a meter. Then you won't be screwing it into a 'live' busbar. I've seen the result of someone trying to do it live...and the burn marks inside the panel...the screwdiver must have slipped. Scary.

Last edited by SD515; 09-26-2008 at 06:33 PM.
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2008, 06:40 PM   #18
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

What kind of breaker


when i had to work on my box, i cut the power at the pole breaker AND inside the house and still tested it. scary indeed SD515

DM
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2008, 07:35 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Default

What kind of breaker


I do work with the main on, but this isn't something for someone not experienced around electricity. If you ever work with it live, watch where those hands and wires are!
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2008, 07:57 PM   #20
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Default

What kind of breaker


Quote:
Originally Posted by rgsgww View Post
I do work with the main on, but this isn't something for someone not experienced around electricity. If you ever work with it live, watch where those hands and wires are!
Agreed

Most panels I'll do live too, but not a Pushomatic or other bolt on breaker, especially if I can help it. Residential is too easy to shut the main off for a moment. Commercial jobs don't always afford that luxury.
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2008, 08:37 PM   #21
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 11
Default

What kind of breaker


Those are pushmatic breakers and are still made by ITE - and they are not cheap - the ones that I have seen at HD are knockoffs - they should be all black in color - the ones I saw at HD were black faced and grey behind - tried using one for a dryer once and it constantly tripped from overheating - and yes it was marked 30 Amp

muck
muckusmc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2008, 09:12 PM   #22
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Default

What kind of breaker


I haven't had any issues with the 'knock-off' types that HD sells, but I know what you mean Muck. I separated a circuit and added another to a panel recently that kept tripping the breaker. It was an original 20A breaker, at least it looked so. Funny thing was it wouldn't trip until it reached 29 amps. I watched my amp meter sit at 27A for over a minute, had the HO turn on a few more lights, then it went to 29 and finally tripped.

Trust me, I'm no real fan of Pushomatics, but if that's whats there to work with....well....
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2008, 10:03 PM   #23
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 11
Default

What kind of breaker


I agree - never did like the pushmatics - have alot of them around here and the majority don't have mains so have to change the breakers hot - real pain
Muck

muckusmc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Circuit breaker panel - Advice needed justtired Electrical 15 12-13-2007 05:55 AM
20 Amp Breaker tripping with GFCI panhandlion Electrical 7 12-12-2007 08:59 PM
Problem with circuit breaker. HELP! spartanic Electrical 2 10-28-2007 03:09 PM
Outdoor breaker panel questions lhoney2 Electrical 12 07-19-2007 05:44 PM
Breaker Buzz SkipI Electrical 2 07-13-2007 07:48 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.