What Kind Of Breaker - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-25-2008, 11:04 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

What kind of breaker


I'm kind of a novice to electrical wiring. I wanted to know what kind of circuit breaker I need to install. As you can see I have 2 blanks on the panel. That does mean I would need to add a circuit breaker, correct?

I will be installing 4 new receptacles, and a light switch for future track lighting. So what breaker shall I pick up? any help appreciated thx

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3128/...6ffb58f4_o.jpg

Advertisement

TaazKareem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2008, 03:28 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

What kind of breaker


Im not exactly sure, it kinda looks like pushmatic breakers but I could be wrong. Is there any markings on the panel?

Advertisement

rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2008, 05:25 PM   #3
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,451
Rewards Points: 502
Default

What kind of breaker


It's a Pushomatic. A single pole 15 amp breaker will take care of your needs, unless the outlets are for a kitchen, laundry or bath.
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2008, 05:43 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

What kind of breaker


Ok cool thx but I have 20amp outlets and 12 gauge wire I just bought, I believe I have to buy a 20 amp breaker, correct? They can safely be installed in this service panel?
TaazKareem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2008, 05:58 PM   #5
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,451
Rewards Points: 502
Default

What kind of breaker


Quote:
Originally Posted by TaazKareem View Post
Ok cool thx but I have 20amp outlets and 12 gauge wire I just bought, I believe I have to buy a 20 amp breaker, correct?
You don't have to use a 20A brkr...you could use a 15A if you wanted to. You can always go lower, but not higher than the rating of the circuit. 20A outlets wired with 12 ga would be a rated 20A circuit, so you could use either a 15 or a 20. I'd use a 20, but I just wanted to clarify that for you.
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2008, 09:41 PM   #6
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,992
Rewards Points: 2,782
Default

What kind of breaker


You will need to Google obsolete breaker dealers to find a place that sells your breaker. Expect to pay around $20-25 for the breaker.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2008, 10:03 PM   #7
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,451
Rewards Points: 502
Default

What kind of breaker


Not necessarily Jim. I don't know 100% if HD and Lowe's carries them, but Menard's does...but Menard's only has stores in the mid-west. Other elect suppliers in my town stock them too....and they are about $20-25.
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2008, 12:03 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

What kind of breaker


I don't know exactly what to look for. A "Pushmatic" or "Pushomatic" breaker? Is that the manufacturer of the breaker or the manufacturer of the service panel? Or Is pushmatic a style of breaker and I can use different manufacturers? Sorry I don't know that much, I have an electrician friend that will come in and wire everything up but I wanted to have the correct materials ready for him. And hopefully I will be able to pick it up right at home depot or lowes.
TaazKareem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2008, 12:24 AM   #9
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 1,000
Blog Entries: 2
Default

What kind of breaker


Quote:
Originally Posted by TaazKareem View Post
I don't know exactly what to look for. A "Pushmatic" or "Pushomatic" breaker? Is that the manufacturer of the breaker or the manufacturer of the service panel? Or Is pushmatic a style of breaker and I can use different manufacturers? Sorry I don't know that much, I have an electrician friend that will come in and wire everything up but I wanted to have the correct materials ready for him. And hopefully I will be able to pick it up right at home depot or lowes.
Siemens was making the Pushmatic for a while, but then I think they gave it up, now there is just one company that is making the breakers, I think they are in Canada. It was the name of the product, and once may have been the name of the manufacture as well, but I don't know that for sure. I don't think they were installed much past the 1960's.

Anyway, Home Depot had the 15 amp pushmatic in stock when I was there about a month ago. They are also on ebay all the time. They can even be found on amazon.com

Jamie
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2008, 05:08 AM   #10
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,451
Rewards Points: 502
Default

What kind of breaker


Quote:
Originally Posted by josh52375 View Post
you don't need any breakers just cut a slice in the wire coming into the house b4 it hits the timer box and spice off that you can have all the electric you want for free then box it in so the power company can't see it
I'm astounded!! That's the most dangerous thing I've ever heard !! Don't even consider doing this !!

This OP obviously has limited knowledge of electrical and you're suggesting that he cut into live, unfused service wires????? I'd rather hear that he gave up the idea of adding a new circuit than to hear he got killed trying to do what you suggested Josh!!
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2008, 10:47 AM   #11
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

What kind of breaker


*GASPING* OMG! and i thought i was off sometimes....


DM
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2008, 11:54 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

What kind of breaker


Woah, Ive seen that before...I really bet this guy was just joking, but its bad to give people the wrong idea...especially when it comes to electrical.
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2008, 06:21 PM   #13
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,451
Rewards Points: 502
Default

What kind of breaker


Quote:
Originally Posted by TaazKareem View Post
I don't know exactly what to look for. A "Pushmatic" or "Pushomatic" breaker? Is that the manufacturer of the breaker or the manufacturer of the service panel? Or Is pushmatic a style of breaker and I can use different manufacturers? Sorry I don't know that much, I have an electrician friend that will come in and wire everything up but I wanted to have the correct materials ready for him. And hopefully I will be able to pick it up right at home depot or lowes.
You can probably find it at HD or Lowe's pretty easily. 'Pushomatic' is a style. It used to be a brand line, like Square D has QO and Homeline today. If you ask an associate at the store for a Pushomatic breaker, they should know what you're talking about. I haven't found any by different manufacturers that didn't work in those panels.
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2008, 06:43 PM   #14
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 1,000
Blog Entries: 2
Default

What kind of breaker


Quote:
Originally Posted by SD515 View Post
I'm astounded!! That's the most dangerous thing I've ever heard !! Don't even consider doing this !!

This OP obviously has limited knowledge of electrical and you're suggesting that he cut into live, unfused service wires????? I'd rather hear that he gave up the idea of adding a new circuit than to hear he got killed trying to do what you suggested Josh!!
It scares the heck out of me too when I see stuff like this posted. I saw it and quickly realized the guy was just here to cause problems and reported him. However, I have seen too many people that will just blindly follow directions when given. Someone that lacks a fundamental understand of electricity, could easily get killed if they followed directions like that that someone posted.

Lesson that everyone that comes here should learn: If you not sure something is right, correct or safe, call a professional for help or at a minimum, verify your information with trusted sources.

Take Care
Jamie
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2008, 07:18 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

What kind of breaker


I would know better than to do such a thing. Hopefully other folks would have common sense as well. But in any event, I will probably be installing these 2 pushmatic breakers, long as I don't fool with the hot wires in there I should be fine because I have an understanding of what to do. It would be easier to attach the electrical wire beforehand right?

Advertisement

TaazKareem is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Circuit breaker panel - Advice needed justtired Electrical 15 12-13-2007 06:55 AM
20 Amp Breaker tripping with GFCI panhandlion Electrical 7 12-12-2007 09:59 PM
Problem with circuit breaker. HELP! spartanic Electrical 2 10-28-2007 04:09 PM
Outdoor breaker panel questions lhoney2 Electrical 12 07-19-2007 06:44 PM
Breaker Buzz SkipI Electrical 2 07-13-2007 08:48 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts