Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-04-2012, 08:42 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 3,926
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

what happened here ?


i have a GFI outlet on my front porch, it worked just fine. is on its own circuit except for a light in the basement, and it didn't have a ground. yesterday i replaced the old wiring with some romex that has a ground. now, the outlet keeps tripping, though i got it to stay 1 time. retesting made it go back to tripping. on the outlet itself, it says "white" and "hot", so that is how i wired it.
also, i tagged off of this outlet a wire that will be used for the front door lights. the wire is capped off.

i am

Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 08:47 AM   #2
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

what happened here ?


New GFI's will not reset if they are wired incorrectly. How did you "tag off this outlet" for a future light? Do you have line and load reversed?

__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 08:55 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 3,926
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

what happened here ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
New GFI's will not reset if they are wired incorrectly.

How did you "tag off this outlet" for a future light?

Do you have line and load reversed?

ok. but then why did it reset one time ?

it has 2 sets of screws.

well, it say white and hot on the back of the outlet. so i put the white wires on the white side, and the black wires on the hot side.
Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 09:00 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,115
Rewards Points: 3,348
Default

what happened here ?


There should have been a yellow sticker over the load side of the outlet.
There's also line and load molded right into the back of the outlet.
Line is incoming power, load is power going out.
Black wire on gold screw.
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 09:06 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 3,926
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

what happened here ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption View Post
There should have been a yellow sticker over the load side of the outlet.
There's also line and load molded right into the back of the outlet.
Line is incoming power, load is power going out.
Black wire on gold screw.
yes, there was. i didn't know that there was an actual "in and out".

does that mean the gfi will protect the future lights ?

iirc, all the screws are white
Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 09:14 AM   #6
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

what happened here ?


It probably didn't actually reset, the button just pushed in. The top terminals are usually the load side and the bottom are usually the line. You must keep the line/load wires together.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 09:30 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 3,926
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

what happened here ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
It probably didn't actually reset, the button just pushed in.
it actually did. i had a tester plugged into it.

anyway. i probably wired it wrong, and i will correct it later.
Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 11:01 AM   #8
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,526
Rewards Points: 2,394
Default

what happened here ?


Just to help clarify.....

You have a line side and load side.

The line side is where you connect your incoming power. At this point, you can use the outlet....and the test/reset should work.

If you want to connect additional devices that will be GFIC protected, you connect them to the load side. Those load side terminals are in parallel with the recept contacts.

Note...one of the most common wiring mistakes is for people to wire nut all the neutrals together.....including the load side. The load side neutral MUST connect to the neutral screw on the load side....
__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 07:32 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 3,926
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

what happened here ?


i had it wired wrong. it is working correctly now. thanx fella's.

Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
newly installed tile is loose, another sounds loose? What happened?? papason Tiling, ceramics, marble 1 08-19-2012 02:15 PM
what happened to my engine????? kbfarm Automotive Repairs 12 11-02-2010 08:17 PM
What happened? TheDood Painting 14 10-09-2010 06:11 AM
200 amp service, someone explain what may have happened? Piedmont Electrical 16 12-12-2007 08:31 PM
What happened here? Dusty Painting 9 09-17-2006 08:43 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.