Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-08-2013, 05:05 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

What is going on in my electrical box? Pics


I bought a timer to control a single light on the front of my garage. The timer has 4 wires, the switch I was going to replace only had two black wires, no neutral, and wasn't grounded. I'm trying to make sense of all of the wires in this box. Can I hook it up with the wires that are in there? Sorry if this is confusing, but I'm hoping something in the box is a neutral wire. (the house is old, 1960's)

Here are the pics I took. Any thoughts? Is this dangerous the way it is wired now? Any hope I can hook up my new timer?






d189379 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 05:08 PM   #2
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,142
Rewards Points: 0
Default

What is going on in my electrical box? Pics


Use the neutral that is on the plug for your timer.

darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 05:12 PM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,788
Rewards Points: 8
Default

What is going on in my electrical box? Pics


I don't know what timer you bought, but if it requires a neutral, then you can tap it from the receptacle.
The black wire under the wire nut is the feed to the switch, and the other black on the switch goes to the light.

I would pigtail the neutrals.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jbfan For This Useful Post:
d189379 (03-08-2013)
Old 03-08-2013, 06:36 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 0
Default

What is going on in my electrical box? Pics


Since your box is grounded, mounting the timer into the metal box should take care of the ground. But you can pigtail the bare wires with the green one if you really want to.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to kbsparky For This Useful Post:
d189379 (03-08-2013)
Old 03-08-2013, 06:46 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 0
Default

What is going on in my electrical box? Pics


Quote:
Originally Posted by darren View Post
Use the neutral that is on the plug for your timer.
Sorry, I guess what I was asking was if there is in fact a neutral wire in the box, and if there is, how do I figure out which one it is?

The timer says I need a neutral, ground, line, and load connection.

I'll ground the green wire to the box, line and load are there, it's just the neutral I can't figure out. Is it one of the white wires attached to the recepticle? Can I just piggyback off of one of those?
d189379 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 06:46 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 0
Default

What is going on in my electrical box? Pics


Quote:
Originally Posted by kbsparky View Post
Since your box is grounded, mounting the timer into the metal box should take care of the ground. But you can pigtail the bare wires with the green one if you really want to.
Yeah, I was just going to ground to the screw in the back of the box.
d189379 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 07:11 PM   #7
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,142
Rewards Points: 0
Default

What is going on in my electrical box? Pics


Quote:
Originally Posted by d189379 View Post
Sorry, I guess what I was asking was if there is in fact a neutral wire in the box, and if there is, how do I figure out which one it is?

The timer says I need a neutral, ground, line, and load connection.

I'll ground the green wire to the box, line and load are there, it's just the neutral I can't figure out. Is it one of the white wires attached to the recepticle? Can I just piggyback off of one of those?
There both a neutral, you have your incoming power and then the power leaves the box.

Take the two white off the the plug make a joint with those two whites, another 6 inch white and the white of the timer. The 6 inch white would go to the plug.
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to darren For This Useful Post:
d189379 (03-08-2013)
Old 03-08-2013, 07:12 PM   #8
Electrical Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 725
Rewards Points: 0
Default

What is going on in my electrical box? Pics


Quote:
Originally Posted by d189379 View Post
Sorry, I guess what I was asking was if there is in fact a neutral wire in the box, and if there is, how do I figure out which one it is?

The timer says I need a neutral, ground, line, and load connection.

I'll ground the green wire to the box, line and load are there, it's just the neutral I can't figure out. Is it one of the white wires attached to the recepticle? Can I just piggyback off of one of those?
For the neutral, you'll need to take the two neutral wires off the receptacle, wire-nut them together, making a pigtail with a new wire to one of the receptacle screws, and the wire from your timer switch.
Kyle_in_rure is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Kyle_in_rure For This Useful Post:
d189379 (03-08-2013)
Old 03-08-2013, 09:15 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 24
Rewards Points: 0
Default

What is going on in my electrical box? Pics


Quote:
Originally Posted by darren View Post
There both a neutral, you have your incoming power and then the power leaves the box.

Take the two white off the the plug make a joint with those two whites, another 6 inch white and the white of the timer. The 6 inch white would go to the plug.
Thanks a lot. You guys are awesome.

d189379 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Demo'd Half-Bath, Pics Attached, Any Electrical? 99altrade Electrical 7 12-22-2010 02:48 PM
Electrical Questions from a Foreigner mark_anderson_u Electrical 4 09-10-2010 06:46 AM
For stacked dryer/washer - where to locate electrical outlets and water supply lines Cliffhanger Electrical 3 09-05-2010 09:48 AM
Electrical Panel Upgrade & Main Water Shut Off DIYerIT Electrical 2 09-02-2010 02:42 PM
Just for fun Andy in ATL Electrical 56 10-20-2009 09:33 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.