Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-28-2010, 04:43 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 3
Share |
Post

what gauge wire


hi i am wiring my detached garage (in canada) i am puting a 100 amp sub panel in the garage. i was told i need a smaller breaker in the main panel so i am using a 60 amp d.p.b. in the house witch should be sufficent for the garage. i have a run of a little less than 35 feet i was told i need to use #6/3 underground wire is this corect or can i use #8 or #10 i am running it in conduit underground

james582 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2010, 05:02 PM   #2
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,134
Default

what gauge wire


#6 RW90(red, black, white, they have to be these colours you can't retape them) and a #10 green insulated ground conductor. You are best to install individual conductors if you have a conduit. If your going to use a cable you will have to use 6/3 NMWU.

darren is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to darren For This Useful Post:
james582 (07-28-2010)
Old 07-28-2010, 09:36 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 3
Default

what gauge wire


thank you verry fast and informitave
james582 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2010, 09:45 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 3
Default

what gauge wire


last minute thought what size conduit should i use if im using plastic conduit

Last edited by james582; 07-28-2010 at 09:48 PM.
james582 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2010, 08:01 AM   #5
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,252
Default

what gauge wire


If you use individual THWN wires (three #6 and one #10), according to this raceway fill calculator, you need 3/4" minimum for sch. 40 pvc. I'd run 1" to make it easier to pull.
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2010, 04:36 PM   #6
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,134
Default

what gauge wire


If you are useing RW90xlpe you will have to run 1".
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2010, 09:14 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Quebec City, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 5
Default

what gauge wire


#6/3 NMWU copper is good for 65 amps, and since manufacturer do not make 65 amps breaker, the code allow us to go to the next available, which in our case will be 70 amps. So either 60 or 70 amps breaker will do.

It's always cheaper to run a cable, instead of doing PVC conduit run. You will need to bury it 2 feet deep in both cases.

Personally, I do most of my garage and toll shack sub-panels with TECK90 aluminium cable. It's 3 to 4 times cheaper than copper, and the cable is extremely resistant to abuse. In this case you would need #4/3 TECK aluminium cable (good for 65 amps), plus standard connectors to plug it at both ends (do not buy TECK connectors, they are intented for use in wet locations and are expensive, in this case you do not need them).

You cannot buy TECK are your local hardware store, you need to go to the nearest Lumen, Westburne, Nedco, Wesco store...just pick the nearest.
vlatva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2010, 10:26 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,794
Default

what gauge wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by james582 View Post
hi i am wiring my detached garage (in canada) i am puting a 100 amp sub panel in the garage. i was told i need a smaller breaker in the main panel so i am using a 60 amp d.p.b. in the house witch should be sufficent for the garage. i have a run of a little less than 35 feet i was told i need to use #6/3 underground wire is this corect or can i use #8 or #10 i am running it in conduit underground
Is this a Canadian requirement?

Also I suggest to run a amply oversized conduit - makes it easier to pull and can easily accomodate a future change to a larger wire should it be desired.

Last edited by vsheetz; 07-31-2010 at 10:29 AM.
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2010, 05:21 PM   #9
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,134
Default

what gauge wire


#6/3 NMWU copper is good for 65 amps, and since manufacturer do not make 65 amps breaker, the code allow us to go to the next available, which in our case will be 70 amps. So either 60 or 70 amps breaker will do.

Where does it say this in the code book, there is the 5% rule but your not with in 5% with this wire.

hi i am wiring my detached garage (in canada) i am puting a 100 amp sub panel in the garage. i was told i need a smaller breaker in the main panel.

No he only wants 60A in the garage but his panel is rated at 100A so in this case he needs to install a smaller(60A) breaker in the main panel.

darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What type wire to use from transfer switch to outdoor outlet brjl Electrical 32 11-20-2013 08:36 AM
Real Basic Electrical question re: neutral wire hellothere123 Electrical 22 07-21-2009 06:07 PM
Neutral Wire? 4x15mph Electrical 8 11-24-2008 01:00 PM
Should a dryer be 10 gauge wire & range 8/3? twilightcall Electrical 7 07-03-2008 06:29 AM
Gauge Wire and Breaker Discrepancy broken_scout Electrical 26 12-22-2007 10:07 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.