Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-19-2011, 03:30 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

What gauge wire for 100 ft run?


My electrician was supposed to run an electrical supply line to the side of a pond but he has not showed up. My landscaper is installing sod on Thursday morning so he has to dig the trench and I have to put in the pipe and wire and then find an electrician.

I have a dry pond with two waterfalls each using a 1000 W pump. The run (in the ground) from the back of my house to the pond is approximately 35 ft. The distance (in the basement) from the front of the house to the back of the house is 43 ft for a total of approximately 80 ft. I have two waterfall pumps which are 1000 W each.


I would greatly appreciate it if someone can tell me the following:

1) what gauge wire to use and should I use one larger gauge wire or two smaller gauge wires
2) how deep does the pipe have to be buried

Thanks!

philesq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2011, 03:39 PM   #2
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,541
Rewards Points: 0
Default

What gauge wire for 100 ft run?


Don't worry about the wire yet, just bury 3/4" PVC a minimum of 18" deep. Make sure you glue all connections well and don't use more than four 90 deg elbows.

__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2011, 03:44 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Default

What gauge wire for 100 ft run?


Thanks!!!
philesq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2011, 04:27 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,794
Rewards Points: 0
Default

What gauge wire for 100 ft run?


Quote:
Originally Posted by HouseHelper View Post
Don't worry about the wire yet, just bury 3/4" PVC a minimum of 18" deep. Make sure you glue all connections well and don't use more than four 90 deg elbows.
12" bury depth if a single 120v circuit protected upstream by GFCI in the house.
__________________
____________
Vince
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2011, 07:04 PM   #5
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,154
Rewards Points: 62
Default

What gauge wire for 100 ft run?


For that length, if just 110, I would go with #10.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2011, 07:18 PM   #6
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,252
Rewards Points: 0
Default

What gauge wire for 100 ft run?


Run a string through the conduit, tie/tape the wire to the string to make it easier to pull. MIght want to run a couple in case one breaks.
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2011, 10:50 PM   #7
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 0
Default

What gauge wire for 100 ft run?


Just run 3/4 inch PVC conduit buried at 18 inch deep then will deal with circuit set up due the 3/4 conduit can handle 2 or 3 circuits without issue.

For the waterfall pumps you can have a choice .,,

Timer for both or indivual pumps or manual control aka switch.

Have a extra circuit for luminaires I am pretty sure you will need it one way or other.

Merci,
Marc

__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What size ground wire should I use for 8 gauge power dxmullin Electrical 1 07-06-2011 02:57 PM
wire gauge rob waas Electrical 1 07-02-2011 08:47 PM
Hot Water Heater Wire Gauge bphilip Electrical 16 09-18-2010 07:23 PM
20A Breaker, 14 gauge wire? joside Electrical 12 08-25-2010 09:41 AM
Neutral Wire? 4x15mph Electrical 8 11-24-2008 01:00 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.