Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-16-2008, 03:33 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 68
Rewards Points: 75
Default

What is FAU?


I was chartting my circuits today, and I came across one breaker which does not appear to have anything on it. Someone wrote next to it "FAU". Any ideas? It's a 15 amp breaker. Thanks.

farmerde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2008, 03:45 PM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,858
Rewards Points: 2,020
Default

What is FAU?


"Forced Air Unit" is about all I can come up with.

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2008, 03:49 PM   #3
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

What is FAU?


furnace/air unit?

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2008, 04:00 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 68
Rewards Points: 75
Default

What is FAU?


That's possible. I'll check it. I have a 40 amp for my A.C. and I made an assumption that the A/C and furnace were all on one circuit.
farmerde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2008, 04:06 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

What is FAU?


Quote:
Originally Posted by farmerde View Post
That's possible. I'll check it. I have a 40 amp for my A.C. and I made an assumption that the A/C and furnace were all on one circuit.
There's probably two seperate ciruits. One for the inside air handler and one for the outside compressor.
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2008, 04:47 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

What is FAU?


They are usually seperate, one 15 for the motor (usually a 12-15 amp motor) and one for the compressor (usually 28-45 amperes) It really depends on the size of the units.

rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.