Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-16-2013, 03:12 PM   #1
Member
 
j_sun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 44
Share |
Default

What to do w/ ground wire going into sub-panel


Hi,
I am in the process of replacing all the knt in my old home. Unfortunately that involves a lot of tearing out of plaster and other tedious things. To help with this process I need to temporarily drop a circuit out of a sub panel in my attic. This sub panel does not have a ground wire connecting it to the main panel. My question is what do I do with the ground wire in the romex I am running into the sub panel for my new circuit? Do I connect it to the neutral or cut it off? The main panel has the neutral and ground busses bonded and is properly grounded w/ ground rods.

Thanks.

j_sun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 03:13 PM   #2
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,674
Default

What to do w/ ground wire going into sub-panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by j_sun View Post
Hi,
I am in the process of replacing all the knt in my old home. Unfortunately that involves a lot of tearing out of plaster and other tedious things. To help with this process I need to temporarily drop a circuit out of a sub panel in my attic. This sub panel does not have a ground wire connecting it to the main panel. My question is what do I do with the ground wire in the Rex I am running into the sub panel for my new circuit? Do I connect it to the neutral or cut it off? The main panel has the neutral and ground busses bonded and is properly grounded w/ ground rods.

Thanks.
What wiring method was used to feed this sub-panel?

stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 03:15 PM   #3
Member
 
j_sun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 44
Default

What to do w/ ground wire going into sub-panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375

What wiring method was used to feed this sub-panel?
It's the old style 10/3 romex w/o ground
j_sun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 03:16 PM   #4
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,674
Default

What to do w/ ground wire going into sub-panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by j_sun View Post
It's the old style 10/3 romex w/o ground
I would replace the feeder going to that panel... no good with that setup. For temporary use, I would GFCI protect the original 10-3 NM if you plan on renovating that area at a later date.... Or just GFCI protect your new temp. circuit...

Last edited by stickboy1375; 02-16-2013 at 03:18 PM.
stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 03:20 PM   #5
Member
 
j_sun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 44
Default

What to do w/ ground wire going into sub-panel


Perfect. Thanks. I am planning on replacing the whole setup.
j_sun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 03:22 PM   #6
Member
 
j_sun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 44
Default

What to do w/ ground wire going into sub-panel


Btw. What do you recommend I use for the new sub panel? I've got 100A new SquareD main panel with ample breaker space. The sub panel will likely feed 3-4 general lighting and receptacle circuits.
j_sun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2013, 03:25 PM   #7
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,674
Default

What to do w/ ground wire going into sub-panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by j_sun View Post
Btw. What do you recommend I use for the new sub panel? I've got 100A new SquareD main panel with ample breaker space. The sub panel will likely feed 3-4 general lighting and receptacle circuits.
just get a sq. d 8 circuit panel if you dont think you'll ever need the room...
stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 12:42 PM   #8
Member
 
ericmunyon12345's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 55
Default

What to do w/ ground wire going into sub-panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by j_sun
Hi,
I am in the process of replacing all the knt in my old home. Unfortunately that involves a lot of tearing out of plaster and other tedious things. To help with this process I need to temporarily drop a circuit out of a sub panel in my attic. This sub panel does not have a ground wire connecting it to the main panel. My question is what do I do with the ground wire in the romex I am running into the sub panel for my new circuit? Do I connect it to the neutral or cut it off? The main panel has the neutral and ground busses bonded and is properly grounded w/ ground rods.

Thanks.
Re run the feed with 3 wire with ground. In the sub panel, the neutral bus bar should NOT be bonded to the panel.
ericmunyon12345 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2013, 12:45 PM   #9
Member
 
j_sun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 44
Default

What to do w/ ground wire going into sub-panel


Hi All,
Thanks for the input. I ended pulling the correct wire from the main panel and installed a brand new SqD sub-panel. I figured if I was going to put some effort into now I might as well do everything the right way.

Jason

j_sun is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sub Panel over 10g-2 Help Needed hamblinh Electrical 30 01-18-2013 07:46 PM
Routing ground wire from panel to rod novaguy Electrical 5 01-15-2013 04:20 PM
Old Cutler Hammer CH12 panel - ground block GroundLoop Electrical 11 02-15-2012 10:19 AM
Running new(up to code) ground wire & protection. MikeSF Electrical 25 07-04-2010 04:33 PM
sub panel ground and neutral daddyrabbit Electrical 3 01-29-2010 06:49 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.