What To Do With Ground Wire? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-29-2011, 10:43 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: DuPage County, IL
Posts: 69
Rewards Points: 77
Default

What to do with ground wire?


This is a really basic/stupid question but here goes: I just installed a Lutron CFL dimmer switch in a 3-way circuit. The box doesn't have a ground wire, so I capped the ground wire on the switch (per mfg instructions) and installed the switch. When I installed the switch, the bare part of the ground wire near the switch touches the box. Is this a problem? Intuition tells me no, because the ground is supposed to connect to the box anyway, but just wanted to check before I finished installation.

Advertisement

scottyv81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2011, 10:47 AM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,904
Rewards Points: 2,162
Default

What to do with ground wire?


The ground wire is connected to the yoke/frame of the dimmer. The dimmer is screwed to the (assumed) metal box.

Advertisement

Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2011, 10:57 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: DuPage County, IL
Posts: 69
Rewards Points: 77
Default

What to do with ground wire?


The ground wire is woven through a few holes in the yoke/frame of the switch. There is a very small length of wire right at the yoke/frame that is bare before the wire insulation starts. It's the bare part of the wire near the yoke/frame that is touching the box that I was questioning.
scottyv81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2011, 11:06 AM   #4
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,904
Rewards Points: 2,162
Default

What to do with ground wire?


I understand that, but the box is metal, right? And so is the frame of the dimmer, right? And the wire is attached to the fame of the dimmer, right?

So the exposed section of wire touching is fine since the dimmer frame is directly mounted to the metal box.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2011, 11:11 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: DuPage County, IL
Posts: 69
Rewards Points: 77
Default

What to do with ground wire?


Yep, makes sense, thanks for the help. Like I said, my intuition told me it's OK but I'm an engineer so I tend to over-analyze things.
scottyv81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing outlet - no ground wire clydesdale Electrical 17 12-18-2011 03:29 AM
3 Wire Set Up . . . Neutral Wire Tied to Ground Wires irishMonster Electrical 14 10-21-2010 09:20 AM
ground wire debd Electrical 7 04-19-2010 08:05 PM
This doesnt seem right. JoulesWinfield Electrical 27 07-26-2009 08:40 PM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 10:41 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts