Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-15-2008, 11:01 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 68
Rewards Points: 75
Default

what is considered "accessible" for a junction box.


I want to add a new light fixture. My plan was to cut into a 15 amp romex cable that was near the area, install a junction box, and splice the new romex cable to the new fixture from this box. Is the junction box considered accessable if it's in my attic?

Thanks.

farmerde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2008, 11:10 PM   #2
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

what is considered "accessible" for a junction box.


Quote:
Originally Posted by farmerde View Post
I want to add a new light fixture. My plan was to cut into a 15 amp romex cable that was near the area, install a junction box, and splice the new romex cable to the new fixture from this box. Is the junction box considered accessable if it's in my attic?

Thanks.
Yes, it is accessible. But be sure that the circuit you are tapping into isn't a dedicated circuit, or 240 V, or already switched. And it is likely that you won't have the slack to set just one box. You will probably have to use two junction boxes.

InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2008, 12:28 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 68
Rewards Points: 75
Default

what is considered "accessible" for a junction box.


When you say as long as it isn't "already switched", it would be o.k. to put something there if I wanted that switch to control the new addition right? For example, I installed a ceiling fan in a room where the switch controlled an outlet. I taped into the switch and now it turns both the outlet and the fan on and off.
farmerde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2008, 02:02 AM   #4
Registered User
 
Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,520
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

what is considered "accessible" for a junction box.


As long as the portion of the attic that the box is in can be reached by a serviceperson, then you can have it up there. If the attic is a small inaccessible portion, then you cannot have the junction box up there.
Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2008, 08:33 AM   #5
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

what is considered "accessible" for a junction box.


Quote:
Originally Posted by farmerde View Post
When you say as long as it isn't "already switched", it would be o.k. to put something there if I wanted that switch to control the new addition right? For example, I installed a ceiling fan in a room where the switch controlled an outlet. I taped into the switch and now it turns both the outlet and the fan on and off.
As long as you don't put a speed control type switch in for the fan, then sure. If you like the switch and fan to be controlled by the same switch, go for it.
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Accessable attic & Junction boxes (NEC question) IvoryRing Electrical 7 04-10-2013 10:30 AM
buried junction box shadango Electrical 28 04-09-2010 05:49 PM
Junction box calculation mind screw Kingsmurf Electrical 1 07-23-2008 12:33 AM
Tie off a run in junction box? NotSoHandyman Electrical 3 05-25-2008 09:36 AM
Junction Question? fw2007 Electrical 10 03-31-2008 12:03 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.