Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-11-2011, 07:28 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 23
Rewards Points: 10
Default

What conduit should I use?


Hey All,
I bought a house that has a shed with a 120/240 subpanel. One of the 120 leg wires is out. When we tried to pull the old wire out of the conduit it isn't budging. It looks like the previous owner put in a few nasty 90 degree bends and the wire nearly filled the conduit anyway.

There is a huge concrete driveway between the main box and shed and there isn't a good path to get to dirt and bury a conduit.

I am running running 3 #8 (120, 120, N) and 1 #10 (GR) THWN from a 40A breaker on the main box. Ground rod at shed is taken care of.

I am going to have to resort to above ground conduit.

What size of conduit should I use? The old conduit was 3/4" and I have been told 5 #8 THWN can fit, but now that I can't use the old conduit, is 3/4" the right size or would 1" be better to go with to make it easy to pull the wires through? What should the conduit be made out of? Is there anything you would put around the conduit to make it any stronger? If I am running it over sidewalk what is the appropriate way to do it? Any other pointers to give me so that I don't have to replace conduit for quite some time?

Thanks in advance for the advice!

mulltron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2011, 07:53 PM   #2
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,557
Rewards Points: 2,010
Default

What conduit should I use?


For an exposed installation that could be subject to vehicle traffic (accidentally), I'd say rigid pipe (RMC) is the only suitable solution. I'm sure the electrical subcontractors on here will chime in, too. My solution would be RMC across the above-grade portion, anchored to the concrete with two-hole straps at close intervals. I'd use an LB at each end, with a rigid sweep 90 going underground. Transition to PVC below grade after the rigid sweep. I'd use 1"; it's much easier to pull through.

mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to mpoulton For This Useful Post:
mulltron (07-11-2011)
Old 07-11-2011, 08:07 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 23
Rewards Points: 10
Default

What conduit should I use?


Quote:
Originally Posted by mpoulton View Post
For an exposed installation that could be subject to vehicle traffic (accidentally), I'd say rigid pipe (RMC) is the only suitable solution. I'm sure the electrical subcontractors on here will chime in, too. My solution would be RMC across the above-grade portion, anchored to the concrete with two-hole straps at close intervals. I'd use an LB at each end, with a rigid sweep 90 going underground. Transition to PVC below grade after the rigid sweep. I'd use 1"; it's much easier to pull through.
Thanks for all of your help! Yes please chime in anyone else if you agree or have a differing opinion. There for sure won't be vehicle traffic over it, but it will get stepped on quite a bit.

Another question, half of the run is from the main box along the side of the house. There isn't any dirt between house and concrete. The old conduit went underground, which isn't an option. For the above ground conduit that is along house, is it best to run it near the ground, or screw it to the house up a little higher?
mulltron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2011, 08:29 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 23
Rewards Points: 10
Default

What conduit should I use?


Hey guys,
Does anyone know anything about liquid tite? Would it hold up outside? I am guessing it might not be code though. I am not getting inspected or anything, but I want to be safe.
mulltron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2011, 09:07 PM   #5
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,557
Rewards Points: 2,010
Default

What conduit should I use?


Liquid tight comes in two types: metallic and nonmetallic. It's not usually used for long runs, only for connections to equipment. It's very easy to work with, but hard to pull through and less durable than PVC.

I'd still say rigid conduit is the way to go for your installation. You could use EMT or PVC for the run along the house, and switch to RMC where it crosses the open pavement. I'd run the conduit along the house just above grade, anchored to the foundation wall or slab edge below the siding.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2011, 09:39 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 172
Rewards Points: 150
Default

What conduit should I use?


teck90
awdblazer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2011, 01:34 AM   #7
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,557
Rewards Points: 2,010
Default

What conduit should I use?


Quote:
Originally Posted by awdblazer View Post
teck90
Ha! Still not as tough as RMC, and where the heck is he supposed to get just 20-30 feet of that stuff???

mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PVC conduit - custom offset or bending tns1 Electrical 25 08-29-2011 05:56 PM
How to plug unwanted and leaking conduit? gernith General DIY Discussions 6 08-08-2010 12:09 PM
Warm and Noisy Electrical Conduit Intravartolo Electrical 4 07-26-2010 01:46 AM
Chicago Conduit Rules Wrigleyville Electrical 6 01-28-2010 06:49 PM
Sheathing/siding around conduit destroyer427 Building & Construction 1 10-20-2009 05:25 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.