Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-05-2008, 08:28 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Share |
Default

What was the code requirements on amperage?


I have a dryer socket rated to 40 amperes and the wire feeding it is 10/3 nm-b and the breaker is 40 amps, this was done by licensed electricians back in 2001. I know this is a violation as you are supposed to use the 60c amperage, not 90c. Was it code back then or not? If it wasn't then is there any tricks to pulling 8/3?

rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2008, 08:58 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 208
Default

What was the code requirements on amperage?


It is permissible to use 10/3 nm-b for a dryer. However, it should be on a 2P30A breaker, not a 40. All of the electric dryers I've ever installed (or seen installed) have been 30A. Check the info on the dryer for the proper sizing of conductors. If it calls for a 40A circuit then you'll have to run 8/3. No special tricks that are different than pulling other wires; Be careful, be safe. pete

petey_c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2008, 09:58 AM   #3
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Default

What was the code requirements on amperage?


I agree with Petey, everything sounds ok except the breaker size. Replace the 40 with a 30.
__________________
John
jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2008, 11:33 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Default

What was the code requirements on amperage?


Thanks for the fast response, I will check the dryer for proper amperage, if it needs 40 (I doubt it) I guess I will be pulling 8/3 but if it just needs 30 then I'll just change the breaker with a 30.
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Carrier Furnace help code 31 fauxjaux HVAC 6 04-22-2010 10:36 PM
Code requirements for Vent fan? Indianer Building & Construction 11 06-12-2008 08:30 PM
NC code for Breaker amperage rating in new home for Water Heater, Dryer, Range? lynne Electrical 5 08-26-2007 08:44 PM
Another Bryant 383KVA with code 31 problems rpgIVguru HVAC 1 02-05-2007 01:47 PM
code question JustJoe Building & Construction 3 01-27-2007 09:06 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.