Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-26-2013, 10:45 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 167
Share |
Default

What can all be included on a bathroom circuit?


Provided a 20 amp circuit with 12 gauge wire, what can all be included on a bathroom circuit? I am remodeling a bathroom and would like to use a single circuit for the outlet by vanity (GFCI protected), light, and bath fan. I understand the light should not be gfci protected so I would feed the power first to the switch, then pigtail to the outlet with the gfci.


Last edited by diyer111; 08-28-2013 at 09:44 AM.
diyer111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2013, 10:55 AM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,049
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

What can all be included on a bathroom circuit?


That's fine.

A 20 amp circuit feeding only one bathroom is allowed to have lights/fan on it for that bathroom.

wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2013, 05:21 AM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,137
Default

What can all be included on a bathroom circuit?


we usuallly feed the GFI first then line side to switches ....that device will take the most load
__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2013, 06:55 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,207
Default

What can all be included on a bathroom circuit?


Diyer111 I'd suggest going back and adding your location to your profile.
Sure helps when asking code questions.
Just go to quick links to edit.
If you live in Canada those answers my not be correct. They want 15 amp. lighting circuits.
__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 09:41 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 167
Default

What can all be included on a bathroom circuit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by joecaption View Post
Diyer111 I'd suggest going back and adding your location to your profile.
Sure helps when asking code questions.
Just go to quick links to edit.
If you live in Canada those answers my not be correct. They want 15 amp. lighting circuits.
location has been added
diyer111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 09:43 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 167
Default

What can all be included on a bathroom circuit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Philly Master View Post
we usuallly feed the GFI first then line side to switches ....that device will take the most load
this is what I would like to do, but I have heard somewhere that gfci's occasionally cause a certain type of light (fluorescent maybe?) not to work, or to flicker....???
diyer111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 01:23 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 3
Default

What can all be included on a bathroom circuit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by diyer111

this is what I would like to do, but I have heard somewhere that gfci's occasionally cause a certain type of light (fluorescent maybe?) not to work, or to flicker....???
Like Philly said, if you feed your switches of the line side of the GFI, you should not have any troubles.
GoldenSparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 03:57 PM   #8
Electrical Contractor
 
Philly Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: SE PA
Posts: 1,137
Default

What can all be included on a bathroom circuit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by diyer111 View Post
this is what I would like to do, but I have heard somewhere that gfci's occasionally cause a certain type of light (fluorescent maybe?) not to work, or to flicker....???

using the LINE -- LINE is like using a wire nut .... as apposed to LINE---LOAD .. the LOAD side is GFI protected not the line side


simalar to jumping outlets line in line out to next outlet

__________________
Philadelphia Master Electrician-Generac Dealer
Philly Master is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring in New Addition? sandyman720 Electrical 6 11-27-2011 03:34 PM
Wiring Size Calculations for New Service CorinthWest Electrical 7 12-07-2010 11:36 AM
Basement bathroom wiring mess. Little help. trailblazer1229 Electrical 15 02-16-2010 09:29 AM
Circuit advice for finishing basement Straightgrain Electrical 16 03-25-2009 09:07 AM
Basement Bathroom Circuit design drtpdee Electrical 6 01-03-2008 10:10 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.