What Is The Best Wire Gauge To Use For My New Curcuit? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-28-2013, 01:43 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 41
Rewards Points: 25
Default

What is the best wire gauge to use for my new curcuit?


I am rewiring a room in my house and adding a new 15 amp curcuit but i have a question about the guage of romex i should use.

The existing wiring is 14 gouge 2 conductor and has the main hot feed from the panel comming into an outlet in the room and feeding this room, the master BR and the hall way. I am leaving the original outlet feeding the other rooms alone and I am going to split the existing curcuit to sepeate the new room from the 2 others and run the new curcuit for the bedroom i am redoing.

I am installing 1 ceiling fan w/light kit, 4 cannister lights, 1 closet light w/pull chain, 4-5 recepticals and a double outdoor flood light and I was going to use 1 - 15 amp breaker with 14 guage romex. I believe the 15 amp breaker will be sufficiant unless someone thinks otherwise but is the 14 gauge wire acceptable or should I upgrade to 12 gauge with a 15 amp breaker and 15 amp outlets.

Advertisement

VinnyBags is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 01:47 PM   #2
Member
 
jproffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chester, IL
Posts: 1,321
Rewards Points: 548
Default

What is the best wire gauge to use for my new curcuit?


15A = 14g

20A = 12g

30A = 10g

You should be fine with 14 as long as you plan to use a 15A breaker.

Advertisement

jproffer is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jproffer For This Useful Post:
VinnyBags (07-24-2013)
Old 05-28-2013, 01:59 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 41
Rewards Points: 25
Default

What is the best wire gauge to use for my new curcuit?


Thank you jproffer I was concerned with load. Alot of people are saying to use 12/2 wire ( incase you need more but use it with a 15 amp breaker and 15 amp outlets. Is there still enough load to add to the curcuit in the future if there is a need. I dont want to have to rewire later on when the walls are open now.
VinnyBags is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 02:08 PM   #4
Member
 
jproffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chester, IL
Posts: 1,321
Rewards Points: 548
Default

What is the best wire gauge to use for my new curcuit?


I wasn't even thinking about the walls being open. In that case, I would put the 12 in now, like you said.

Hard to say if there is capacity for more load, but for the price difference vs. trying to fish it in later...I'd use the 12.
jproffer is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to jproffer For This Useful Post:
BirdSlapper (05-30-2013), MTN REMODEL LLC (05-28-2013), VinnyBags (07-24-2013)
Old 05-28-2013, 02:22 PM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,962
Rewards Points: 2,320
Default

What is the best wire gauge to use for my new curcuit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by VinnyBags View Post
Thank you jproffer I was concerned with load. Alot of people are saying to use 12/2 wire ( incase you need more but use it with a 15 amp breaker and 15 amp outlets. Is there still enough load to add to the curcuit in the future if there is a need. I dont want to have to rewire later on when the walls are open now.
If you are going to use #12, why bother with a 15 amp breaker.
If you are in the US, most likely you will need an arcfault breaker also.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jbfan For This Useful Post:
VinnyBags (07-24-2013)
Old 05-28-2013, 02:33 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 41
Rewards Points: 25
Default

What is the best wire gauge to use for my new curcuit?


Thats what i was thinking. Actually the only reason why i was going to use 14 was because i already had a 100' roll that i never used from a different project. I figured why spend more if i didnt need to but if its better ill use 12. Is the 15 amp breaker and 15 amp outlets ok with the 12 awg wire? The 12 awg can handle a higher load but if there is a need but its fine, right?
VinnyBags is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 02:39 PM   #7
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 1,800
Rewards Points: 1,480
Default

What is the best wire gauge to use for my new curcuit?


Quote:
Alot of people are saying to use 12/2 wire ( incase you need more but use it with a 15 amp breaker and 15 amp outlets.
They are probably the same group of people that think 20 amp receptacles are mandated on 20 amp circuits.

Install a #12, a 20 amp breaker and use the 15 amp outlets.

There is little or no difference in cost between 15 and 20 amp breakers.

15 amp receptacles are rated for 20 amp pass thru.
Oso954 is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Oso954 For This Useful Post:
VinnyBags (07-24-2013)
Old 05-28-2013, 03:26 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 41
Rewards Points: 25
Default

What is the best wire gauge to use for my new curcuit?


Thanks Oso954 i think that is what I will do. I am putting way to much thought into this. Is the 2 100 wat flood lights also ok on the 20amp circuit or should those be on a sepeate circuit?
VinnyBags is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 03:32 PM   #9
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,962
Rewards Points: 2,320
Default

What is the best wire gauge to use for my new curcuit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by VinnyBags View Post
Thanks Oso954 i think that is what I will do. I am putting way to much thought into this. Is the 2 100 wat flood lights also ok on the 20amp circuit or should those be on a sepeate circuit?
They are fine.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jbfan For This Useful Post:
VinnyBags (07-24-2013)
Old 05-28-2013, 10:25 PM   #10
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,017
Rewards Points: 2,832
Default

What is the best wire gauge to use for my new curcuit?


Sorry, no pull chain lights in the closet.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (05-29-2013), jbfan (05-29-2013), VinnyBags (07-24-2013)
Old 05-28-2013, 10:43 PM   #11
Remodel and New Build GC
 
MTN REMODEL LLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Colorado @ 7651'
Posts: 2,974
Rewards Points: 2,218
Default

What is the best wire gauge to use for my new curcuit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by VinnyBags View Post
Thanks Oso954 i think that is what I will do. I am putting way to much thought into this. Is the 2 100 wat flood lights also ok on the 20amp circuit or should those be on a sepeate circuit?
There is more to it when figuring your exact load requirements, but for what you want to do, you are perfectly fine and within 15A (14# wire) parameters.

If it helps you, the relatinship of wattage to amps is Watt= Volts x Amps or if you know watts... then Amps= Watts/120 (assuming 120 V circut).... so your two outside lights are pulling less than 2 amps ...200/120.
__________________
Never stop learning (xcep fer speling en typeing)
MTN REMODEL LLC is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to MTN REMODEL LLC For This Useful Post:
VinnyBags (07-24-2013)
Old 05-28-2013, 11:02 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 41
Rewards Points: 25
Default

What is the best wire gauge to use for my new curcuit?


Great thank you, that is very helpful. now i just need to figure out the wiring plan.
VinnyBags is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 12:59 AM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

What is the best wire gauge to use for my new curcuit?


if you have a roll of 14awg why not run 2 circuits split over 2 breakers??
borrott is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to borrott For This Useful Post:
MTN REMODEL LLC (05-29-2013), VinnyBags (07-24-2013)
Old 05-29-2013, 07:37 AM   #14
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,962
Rewards Points: 2,320
Default

What is the best wire gauge to use for my new curcuit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
Sorry, no pull chain lights in the closet.
Missed that.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jbfan For This Useful Post:
VinnyBags (07-24-2013)
Old 05-29-2013, 09:59 AM   #15
Member
 
jproffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chester, IL
Posts: 1,321
Rewards Points: 548
Default

What is the best wire gauge to use for my new curcuit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
Missed that.
x2 ...good catch Jim

Advertisement

jproffer is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jproffer For This Useful Post:
VinnyBags (07-24-2013)
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Type and gauge wire to use for project Olcrazy1 Electrical 9 05-29-2013 01:19 AM
10 Gauge wire with 30amp circuit and Baseboard Heat? RocketManZ Electrical 4 12-17-2011 01:19 PM
What size ground wire should I use for 8 gauge power dxmullin Electrical 1 07-06-2011 03:57 PM
Hot Water Heater Wire Gauge bphilip Electrical 16 09-18-2010 08:23 PM
20A Breaker, 14 gauge wire? joside Electrical 12 08-25-2010 10:41 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts