Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-06-2014, 10:08 AM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 167
Rewards Points: 150
Default

What Amp Service Can I Expect?


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post

You are clueless, I do 320/400 amp services all the time. Anything around 8000k sq ft. requires this type of service if not bigger, especially with geo thermal with electric heat as backup.
I wouldnt say clueless. Where im from there arent houses that big so there is no need for it. Average house size around here is 2,300 sq ft. We also dont normally have infloor heat or geothermal. I am speaking from my background and you from yours. Without the user telling us his sq footage and/or what he will use ths service for there is no way to tell what size service he needs


Last edited by diyer111; 03-06-2014 at 10:13 AM.
diyer111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2014, 10:24 AM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Prescott, AZ USA
Posts: 51
Rewards Points: 29
Default

What Amp Service Can I Expect?


Quote:
Originally Posted by diyer111 View Post
Without the user telling us his sq footage and/or what he will use ths service for there is no way to tell what size service he needs

Well, since you asked, here are the details of my home:

3640 square feet (four bedrooms, no teenagers or endless hair dryers)
1500 square foot garage/workshop (hobbyist only)
two geothermal units (one with hot water heater tie-in)

I had an eMonitor electric monitoring system on the previous wiring configuration before some remodeling began and no circuit ever touched the 80% load limit, nor was there ever a main breaker trip. Since I am only adding a few more circuits in my garage/workshop, I think that I will be fine with 200 amp service. This post was just exploring my options.


Peace,
Dr. Z.
Zeigh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2014, 08:38 PM   #18
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,557
Rewards Points: 2,010
Default

What Amp Service Can I Expect?


Quote:
Originally Posted by diyer111 View Post
Is this for an apartment complex or something? Im talking about a house
That is a house. A rather nice one, but "only" a $2.5M job, which is smaller for that area. The same neighborhood has a couple houses over 20,000 square feet, and one over 60,000 square feet. You'd recognize more than a few names in that neighborhood. The owner of this project was a founder and executive of a well known audio equipment company.
__________________
I am a lawyer, but not your lawyer. And who cares anyways? We're here to talk construction. This is DIY advice, not legal advice.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2014, 06:14 AM   #19
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,132
Rewards Points: 2,056
Default

What Amp Service Can I Expect?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Zeigh View Post
Well, since you asked, here are the details of my home:

3640 square feet (four bedrooms, no teenagers or endless hair dryers)
1500 square foot garage/workshop (hobbyist only)
two geothermal units (one with hot water heater tie-in)

I had an eMonitor electric monitoring system on the previous wiring configuration before some remodeling began and no circuit ever touched the 80% load limit, nor was there ever a main breaker trip. Since I am only adding a few more circuits in my garage/workshop, I think that I will be fine with 200 amp service. This post was just exploring my options.


Peace,
Dr. Z.
What's your backup heat with the GEO? Electric? A 200 amp service seems way to small.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2014, 02:06 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 150
Rewards Points: 77
Default

What Amp Service Can I Expect?


To the OP, if you're having voltage surge issues, I'm guessing that you don't have to look much further than your well pump. The EMF back kick is most likely the culprit. Perhaps the surge protection should be focused on that circuit first.

12 HVAC units on one house would be a first for me. But, then again, I operate on the modest side of town. I wonder if that qualifies for 3-phase service.
Bugman1400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2014, 02:52 PM   #21
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,557
Rewards Points: 2,010
Default

What Amp Service Can I Expect?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bugman1400 View Post
To the OP, if you're having voltage surge issues, I'm guessing that you don't have to look much further than your well pump. The EMF back kick is most likely the culprit. Perhaps the surge protection should be focused on that circuit first.

12 HVAC units on one house would be a first for me. But, then again, I operate on the modest side of town. I wonder if that qualifies for 3-phase service.
I took over that job after it was already underway (and had become a mess), so I had no design input. But many houses in that size range do have 3-phase service and it probably would have been worthwhile on this project.
__________________
I am a lawyer, but not your lawyer. And who cares anyways? We're here to talk construction. This is DIY advice, not legal advice.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2014, 09:13 AM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Prescott, AZ USA
Posts: 51
Rewards Points: 29
Default

What Amp Service Can I Expect?


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
What's your backup heat with the GEO? Electric? A 200 amp service seems way to small.

Yup, the backup heat for my geothermal system is electric and has done just fine since it's installation over a year ago. We initially did a test where the heat strips for both air conditioning units and the hot water heater were on at the same time. I don't have those readings, but no main breaker trip. With geothermal systems you set it and forget it for the best efficiency, so only a small fraction of the total power load is ever used.

If you are really curious, I will post the eMonitor graphs when I get everything reconfigured the way that I want...


Peace,
Dr. Z.

Last edited by Zeigh; 03-08-2014 at 09:19 AM.
Zeigh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2014, 09:18 AM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Prescott, AZ USA
Posts: 51
Rewards Points: 29
Default

What Amp Service Can I Expect?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bugman1400 View Post
To the OP, if you're having voltage surge issues, I'm guessing that you don't have to look much further than your well pump. The EMF back kick is most likely the culprit. Perhaps the surge protection should be focused on that circuit first.

Thanks for the suggestion, but I haven't experienced any actual voltage surge that I can detect myself. Two of my neighbors upstream on the grid have though. The installation of the whole-house surge protector is proactive and like I mentioned, the equipment was a gift, so why not?


Peace,
Dr. Z.
Zeigh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2014, 10:46 AM   #24
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,132
Rewards Points: 2,056
Default

What Amp Service Can I Expect?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Zeigh View Post
Yup, the backup heat for my geothermal system is electric and has done just fine since it's installation over a year ago. We initially did a test where the heat strips for both air conditioning units and the hot water heater were on at the same time. I don't have those readings, but no main breaker trip. With geothermal systems you set it and forget it for the best efficiency, so only a small fraction of the total power load is ever used.

If you are really curious, I will post the eMonitor graphs when I get everything reconfigured the way that I want...


Peace,
Dr. Z.
I'm doing a house now with two Geo units with electric back up, the back up load alone is ridiculous by wattage requirements, I would not want that electric bill.

stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring Size Calculations for New Service CorinthWest Electrical 7 12-07-2010 11:36 AM
rewire and new service entrance wire dghowery Electrical 4 10-13-2010 08:31 AM
"Moving" service entrance WillK Electrical 4 09-29-2010 01:04 PM
How to tell Service amperage?? Buckley Electrical 2 06-06-2009 05:42 PM
How can I determine service amperage? dawho1 Electrical 13 04-07-2008 10:10 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.