Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-11-2011, 03:04 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wet Bar Code


Anyone know if a wet bar in a basement needs two 20amp dedicated and protected appliance circuits like a kitchen?

I am wondering if 1 will do, or if there is even anything in code specific to wet bars.

FirstAndTen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2011, 03:53 PM   #2
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Wet Bar Code


I moved this to Electrical where you'll likely get a faster answer.

DM

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2011, 04:15 PM   #3
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Wet Bar Code


a kitchen is an area with a sink and permanent facilities for food prep and cooking.


does your wet bar fall under that definition?
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2011, 07:48 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 441
Rewards Points: 252
Default

Wet Bar Code


if it is a wet bar and not part of kit,no outlets required.but if an outlet is there it is req to be gfci if it is within 6' of out side edge of sink.210.8(a)(7)
oleguy74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2011, 09:41 PM   #5
Electrical Supplier
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 205
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Wet Bar Code


Yeah the only thing you need to worry about is GFCI protecting the outlets if they are close to the sink.
__________________
"Do it right the first time and avoid duplication of effort"

Your AHJ/Inspectors ALWAYS have the final say on ANY electrical code issue.
If in doubt, contact a licensed, experienced, reputable electrician to perform the work.
LyonsElecSupply is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2011, 09:44 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Wet Bar Code


Thanks! That makes sense. Definitely not a kitchen or even a kitchenette. Looks like I'll be fine (at minimum) with just a single GFCI.

FirstAndTen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
error code 45 Turtle learner HVAC 2 01-10-2011 04:09 PM
Need advice; GC's ignorance of code to cost us extra? Merst Off Topic 9 06-12-2010 09:22 AM
code details for boxes kama Electrical 6 01-30-2009 10:25 AM
Distance between Heater & Combustibles DIY_JC Building & Construction 7 01-20-2009 07:52 AM
Another Bryant 383KVA with code 31 problems rpgIVguru HVAC 1 02-05-2007 01:47 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.