Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-21-2011, 12:41 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Well Pump Wiring


I have a 2 wire 230v submersible well pump. Do I wire from overcurrent protection directly to the pump?

Believer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 12:49 PM   #2
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Well Pump Wiring


No, you need a pressure switch and an expansion tank.

Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 12:51 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Well Pump Wiring


I bet somebody is going to tell me I need a well and a faucet too. Why do these DIY projects get so complicated. I meant to ask only how to wire the pump. Thanks.
Believer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 12:53 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Well Pump Wiring


Dah, on re-reading I understand about the pressure switch. It obviously needs to be in the circuit between power and pump. I guess what I'm trying to ask is do I need any cirucuit protection at the pump.
Believer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 01:04 PM   #5
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Well Pump Wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by Believer View Post
Dah, on re-reading I understand about the pressure switch. It obviously needs to be in the circuit between power and pump. I guess what I'm trying to ask is do I need any cirucuit protection at the pump.
No, you need a disconnect. A 2 pole switch will work. Needs to before the pressure switch.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 01:05 PM   #6
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Well Pump Wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by Believer View Post
Dah, on re-reading I understand about the pressure switch. It obviously needs to be in the circuit between power and pump. I guess what I'm trying to ask is do I need any cirucuit protection at the pump.
You will most likely need some type of disconnect close to the pressure switch.
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 01:38 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Well Pump Wiring


Thanks guys. So I get this clear in my mind, I need a disconnect in addition to (and after) the circuit breaker. Is this correct? If so, is that to get the disconnect close to the pump? Wouldn't the circuit breaker serve as a disconnect?

Believer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power 120V Pump from a 240V circuit RoberTX Electrical 26 07-06-2011 12:43 AM
Swimming Pool Pump & Salt Water Ctlr Wiring brianr Electrical 1 06-27-2011 07:02 AM
heat pump wiring plummen HVAC 5 02-20-2011 09:25 AM
Which diagram to use on Lenox Thermostat wiring setup? Heat Pump Lenox techs needed twilightcall HVAC 1 08-13-2008 12:49 PM
Wiring 240v pump to generator - URGENT Benchr Electrical 4 12-19-2006 06:50 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.