Well Pump Wires To Pressure Switch - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical


Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-30-2009, 08:13 PM   #1
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10

well pump wires to pressure switch

I am working on a house that has a 4" well, there are 3 wires coming out, 1 red, 1 black and 1 yellow, could someone tell me how to wire it to a pressure switch, I am not sure if it is 120 or 240 volts, thanks !!!!


american501 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 08:20 PM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
Speedy Petey's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 7,701
Rewards Points: 1,752

You're serious??? You don't even know if it is 120v or 240v, yet you want someone to tell you how to wire it??

Red, black and yellow is an indication of a remote capacitor start. You need a control box along with the pressure switch.

Might I humbly yet strongly suggest hiring someone to do this for you.


Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2009, 08:13 PM   #3
Idiot Emeritus
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,849
Rewards Points: 1,492

As stated above, this is most likely a 3 wire motor. If so, you'll need a control box. To get the proper box, you'll need to know the voltage and HP of the motor.

If you have an ohm meter that's fairly accurate, and you know the wire size, length, and depth of the well, post the resistance readings. Bla to red, bla to yel, and red to yel.

This will also tell us if it is a two or 3 wire motor.

micromind is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lennox Furnace G27M Series Unreliable operation: pressure switch or else? sheppard1977 HVAC 7 01-14-2013 05:42 PM
Pressure Switch, Draft Inducer, Burner Box, Problem majorapus HVAC 7 10-25-2009 06:14 PM
Could a failed condensor fan raise pressure/trip high pressure limit switch? (Rheem) hennyh HVAC 6 07-30-2009 02:04 PM
Identifying wires in a three way switch bergs4 Electrical 15 07-29-2009 10:33 PM
3-Way Switch Wiring MrBill_DIY Electrical 8 09-07-2008 05:53 PM

Top of Page | View New Posts


Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1