Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-26-2010, 02:51 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

Welder Receptacle - What Electrical Box


I am installing a 30A 240V receptacle for a welder in my attached garage. I have installed 10/2 Romex wire and purchased a NEMA 6-30R receptacle and device cover plate that has 4 screws in it.

My question is what electrical box do I need to install? The flush mount receptacle is 1.5 inches deep. I am in Canada and calculated box fill to be:

Conductors (2x2.25) = 4.5 cu.in
Receptacle (1.5 in x 5 cu.in/in of depth) = 7.5 cu.in
Ground (N/A) = 0 cu.in
TOTAL = 12 cu.in

I originally wanted to install a 4x4 box with a single device cover. The receptacle fits into this device cover fine, but the cover plate doesn't seem to fit properely. The 4x4 single devide cover interferes with the 4 cover plate screws that attach the cover plate to the receptacle.

The other alternative I thought of was to use a surface mount utility box (4"x2-3/8"x1-7/8" deep) and flush mount it. This box has a volume of 16.5 cu.in. The receptacle fits in fine and the 4x4 cover plate screws on fine too. Is there any reason I can't, or shouldn't, use this box?

What are my options?

Thanks

SNAFU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 05:27 PM   #2
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Default

Welder Receptacle - What Electrical Box


I just picked up a plastic "high voltage" box that has screw spacing to work with dryer four wire receptacles. Not sure what is available where you live.

a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 07:26 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 3
Default

Welder Receptacle - What Electrical Box


Thanks. What size is the box?
SNAFU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 09:05 PM   #4
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,798
Default

Welder Receptacle - What Electrical Box


I use a deep 2-gang nail on device box for this. The receptacle has four holes that line up with the four device holes in the box.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
SNAFU (10-26-2010)
Old 10-26-2010, 09:45 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 3
Default

Welder Receptacle - What Electrical Box


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
I use a deep 2-gang nail on device box for this. The receptacle has four holes that line up with the four device holes in the box.
Yes it does!

I never thought of this, but I put two single gang boxes together as a test and this will work perfect. Thank you very much. I was loosing sleep over this. Now its off to Home Depot to get the correct box.
SNAFU is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
5th wheel electrical receptacle House2488 Electrical 8 08-30-2010 01:22 AM
Post mounted electrical receptacle NIlRO Electrical 13 04-19-2010 02:20 PM
Electrical outlet receptacle questions Wolftrap Electrical 27 06-15-2009 05:44 PM
Electrical receptacle problem centralhome Electrical 13 12-27-2008 01:45 PM
replacing an old Electrical receptacle djtjak43 Electrical 3 08-28-2008 07:46 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.