Welder Amperage - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-13-2009, 05:40 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 107
Rewards Points: 75
Default

welder amperage


I am considering buying a used 220 volt, 225 amp stick welder. The decal indicates 50 amp in and 225 amp max out. The dial indicates as little as 40 amps for welding. My only line is 220, 30 amps. Anyone have any experience with operating a welder on lower that spec'd? Will I damge it? Fire hazard? If it will work, any idea how to calculate the max amp out with 30 amps in?

Advertisement

Captflx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2009, 05:48 PM   #2
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,642
Rewards Points: 1,078
Default

welder amperage


I've seen quite a few of these welders used on construction jobs. Almost all of them have 30 amp twistlock plugs on them, mainly because the spider boxes we use for temporary power all have 30 amp 250 volt receptacles. None of them have 50s though.

The worst that'll happen is it'll trip a breaker; usually when the rod sticks and the current is turned way up.

A welder like this using good-sized rod and cranked way up will draw about 30 amps while welding. Most of the time, it'll draw less than 20.

Rob

Advertisement

micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2009, 06:26 PM   #3
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,905
Rewards Points: 2,162
Default

welder amperage


I have tripped a proper 50A breaker exceeding the duty cycle using a large rod. So if you plan on doing anything even remotely heavy duty be prepared to trip the breaker quite often.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Captflx View Post
My only line is 220, 30 amps.
So. Put in the CORRECT line or have it done.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2009, 07:50 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 107
Rewards Points: 75
Default

welder amperage


Thanks. I'm going to give it a try. If an ocassional tripped breaker is my outcome, I can live with that.
Captflx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2009, 07:55 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

welder amperage


Your max power in is 30A(220v) = 6600W, and more for short periods of time, depending on the breaker's trip curve.
Your max power out is 225A(?V).
29 V at this amperage will use up your 6.6 KW.

From other posts, the rated welder power seems to be more than the requested input V x I, so they must be depending on the user making short welds.

With a long cable between the load center and the welder you might trip the breaker less often. It will limit peak current draw somewhat but might give you inferior welds.

A link to your welder spec' sheet can help provide more precise answers.

Last edited by Yoyizit; 09-13-2009 at 07:58 PM.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wring for Lincoln Power Mig Welder vstoyko Electrical 17 01-15-2009 07:15 PM
hooking up welder help? dmank Electrical 1 12-29-2008 12:48 PM
240v Welder powered by portable generator jackgerd Electrical 10 11-06-2008 02:38 PM
MIG welding amakarevic Tools 28 02-20-2008 09:56 PM
Miller syncrowave 250dx Welder installation saddletramp Electrical 6 01-10-2008 02:11 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts