Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-31-2007, 06:14 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Williamsburg, VA
Posts: 529
Share |
Default

Weird problem. Need help.


I'm having problems with an entire circuit in my new home. As far as I can tell, here's what on that circuit:

(4) Recessed lights
(1) Ceiling fan
(1) Dinette light
(3) Flood lights
(1) Porch light
(4) Outlets - one outside

Here's the problem. One minute the entire circuit works, the next minute it doesn't. The breaker doesn't trip, and the recessed lights don't stay on long enough to trip the thermal switch in them. At first I suspected that the electrician must have wired everything into a GFCI outlet, but I can't find one. Could this be a faulty breaker? Any thoughts?
kcrossley2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2007, 07:19 AM   #2
Member
 
RippySkippy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ames, Iowa
Posts: 1,233
Default

Weird problem. Need help.


Do you do anything to get it to work AFTER it quits?
RippySkippy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2007, 07:33 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Williamsburg, VA
Posts: 529
Default

Weird problem. Need help.


No. That's what's weird. If the circuit were connected to a GFCI I would have to do a manual reset, but I'm not doing anything. This kinda reminds me of the Nationwide commercial: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mV0GGspZAos

Kelly
kcrossley2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2007, 08:08 AM   #4
Long-Time DIYer
 
Mike Swearingen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: On Albemarle Sound In Northeastern NC
Posts: 1,460
Default

Weird problem. Need help.


I am not a pro electrician, just a long-time DIYer.
The outside outlet should be a gfci receptacle. Anything in that same circuit past that outside receptacle, if it is a gfci, also will be gfci protected.
Double check that receptacle.
Good Luck!
Mike
Mike Swearingen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2007, 08:19 AM   #5
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,506
Default

Weird problem. Need help.


Intermittent operation of a circuit is almost always a loose connection. Check the receptacles first, looking for a loose push-in connection, most likely in a receptacle that still works. Do this with the breaker turned off. Rewire any push-in connections to the corresponding screws.

If everything on the circuit is losing power, you may need to check the connection at the breaker and the connection of the neutral wire, but this will require working inside the panel.
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2007, 08:25 AM   #6
Long-Time DIYer
 
Mike Swearingen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: On Albemarle Sound In Northeastern NC
Posts: 1,460
Default

Weird problem. Need help.


Kelly,
Just FYI if you're not sure, the black hot goes on the brass screw, the white neutral goes on the silver colored screw and the bare ground goes on the green screw on the receptacle.
Mike Swearingen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2007, 10:27 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 1,861
Default

Weird problem. Need help.


You need to have a circuit diagram.... which device goes first,second,third...etc. hopefully , the electrician who did it can provide you, otherwise, you need to guess/draw it yourself... once you got that... you can trace the problem when the problem occurs... use a voltmeter...etc... like above, it is likely be a bad connection, you need to locate that and tighten things up. once that's done ... you are good... I had that problem before and as I am the installer so I have all my circuits layout drawn and stick besides the panel for future references
KUIPORNG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2007, 11:14 PM   #8
Contractor in PA
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: SE PA
Posts: 34
Default

Weird problem. Need help.


You can try this method. Take a radio, tune it to a station and turn the volume way up. Now unplug the radio and plug it into an outlet that is not working. Now take another appliance such as a lamp etc, and start plugging it into different outlets and wiggle the plug around while plugged in. If you find the outlet with a loose connection, the radio will come on. Then you have fond the culprit. This also helps while you are not in the room with the outlets not working. The problem is definitely a loose connection or splice that heats up and opens under load. When it cools off, the circuit remakes connection.

Odds are the problem will be in an outlet that is presently working (although not always). Look for an outlet that has had a heavy load on it, such as a space heater, iron etc. The outlet may even be in a different room completely (another reason for the radio).

Let us know how you make out and what you find.
michaelpwalton1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2007, 07:41 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Williamsburg, VA
Posts: 529
Default

Weird problem. Need help.


Thanks for all the suggestions.

I found out that some of my neighbors were experiencing the same problem. I was also told by the builder's project manager that the power company was having some type of electrical issue in the area and I could have lost one of my phases in the home. Is this possible?

Does anyone have any good links on what electrical phases are and why they're required?
kcrossley2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2007, 08:22 PM   #10
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,211
Default

Weird problem. Need help.


Are all of these devices on the same circuit? If it was the power company you would have lost more than one circuit. If you are only losing one circuit from your panel then you have a loose connection somewhere on the circuit.
It is not a GFCI tripping. They do not reset themselves.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2007, 06:56 AM   #11
Member
 
RippySkippy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ames, Iowa
Posts: 1,233
Default

Weird problem. Need help.


Quote:
Originally Posted by kcrossley2 View Post
...I was also told by the builder's project manager that the power company was having some type of electrical issue in the area and I could have lost one of my phases in the home. Is this possible?
Anything is possible...I lost a leg from the PC, and the other was running at a variable rate from 30 to 120 amps, man that does a number on anything under load.
RippySkippy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2007, 04:11 PM   #12
Electrician philosopher
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lilburn, GA
Posts: 838
Default

Weird problem. Need help.


If your neighbors are experiencing the same problem, I'd be on the phone with the power company(POCO) quick. The POCO brings two "phases" into your house. They also bring a grounded wire(neutral). Each "phase" is 120V and since thay are 180deg. apart when combined they give you 240V for loads such as you dryer, AC, etc. If this were the case you would infact be losing more circuits, BUT you may not notice it. I know this seems unlikely, but I've seen it happen many times before. The problem comes with how quickly the POCO responds. How often does this happen? Are the utilities overhead or underground? Is it all your neighbors(we can have 1000+ homes here in Atlanta in one new neighborhood)or just a few? I'd goto the top at the POCO until this is resolved. That being said I'd rather lose a "phase" than a neutral anyday!!! That's a whole 'nother post on what happens when the POCO loses the neutral.
Andy in ATL is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
furnace problem captjack HVAC 8 11-23-2007 11:15 AM
Trouble installing ceiling light fixtures: same problem x3 sweetroad9 Electrical 5 04-13-2007 01:46 PM
Post-Tension Slab Problem Advice/Help Mike McBride Building & Construction 2 01-09-2007 01:51 PM
A/C Thermostat Problem therumblefish HVAC 7 11-01-2006 08:08 PM
Problem W/ Power after Switching Outlets... G19-Fanatic Electrical 17 08-28-2006 01:55 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.