Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-07-2010, 10:19 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 18
Share |
Default

Ways around box fill worries


I am in the process of replacing a MWBC that ran through much of my house. I am replacing it with two separate AFCI protected circuits.

My question is if I run power to a switch, can I run a 12-3 cable from it to the box for the light fixture to continue the circuit down the line past the light?

My thought would be to pigtail the neutral in the box at the light and attach it to a 12-2 to continue the circuit on. I have never seen this done though. I can't see though why it wouldn't work.

How do you normally plan your circuits? Most of the wiring right now is ungrounded and in violation of box fill limits, but was done 60 years ago. I have been replacing as I go, but I have been going slow.

Also do you have any tricks for taking out old boxes to put larger ones in?

Thanks as always.

pacifier1er is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2010, 10:27 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,639
Default

Ways around box fill worries


I almost never run a feed to a light and continue to the next device.
I always run my feed to the switches and receptacles.

Feed switch 1, cable to light fixture, another cable to feed the next switch, and so on and so on.

Old boxes can be removed by cutting the nail with a hacksaw, pulling the box from the wall, or drop it into the wall.

Their are 2 types of old work boxes. One uses a set of wings to pull the box flat against the back of the sheetrock two uses screws mounted into the inside of the box that screws to the stud.

Both boxes have limitations for box fill, but both come in several sizes.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2010, 10:35 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 18
Default

Ways around box fill worries


If I use a single gang box (3.5" deep) I am at 21 cu. in., with three 12-2 cables and a switch I would need 24.75", how would you make that work?

Thanks for the quick reply.
pacifier1er is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2010, 11:04 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,639
Default

Ways around box fill worries


What numbers did you use to do the calculations

3 cables = 7 wires. You only count the ground once+the device which counts twice.

Each wire counts as 2.25x7+15.75+device counts as 2(2.25)=4.5 for a total fill of 20.25, more than enough room for a 21 cu box.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2010, 12:35 AM   #5
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Default

Ways around box fill worries


do wire nuts count in the U.S.
every 2 wire nuts counts as a conductor in canada and i was curious.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2010, 06:20 AM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,639
Default

Ways around box fill worries


Quote:
Originally Posted by andrew79 View Post
do wire nuts count in the U.S.
every 2 wire nuts counts as a conductor in canada and i was curious.
Nope!

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jbfan For This Useful Post:
andrew79 (04-08-2010)
Reply

Tags
12-3, box fill, mwbc


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to seal and fill sap veins before painting. fritzycat1 Painting 6 10-20-2009 11:13 PM
Slow toilet tank fill even with NEW fill valve? Zilla Plumbing 8 08-10-2009 09:37 PM
Would you spring to fill in your backyard? Piedmont Landscaping & Lawn Care 4 05-14-2009 08:14 PM
Building a shed, need help with pouring slab / fill ssybert Building & Construction 5 06-12-2008 06:19 AM
cinder bloc shed - fill or no fill ? amakarevic Building & Construction 3 04-16-2008 09:07 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.