By The Way, Honey, I Need A 30 Amp Circuit... - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-26-2011, 09:27 PM   #1
Learning by Doing
 
Leah Frances's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Easton, Maryland
Posts: 3,156
Rewards Points: 2,000
Blog Entries: 7
Default

By the way, honey, I need a 30 Amp circuit...


My dear sweet husband bought a portable lift for our detached garage (it's 75 feet from our house and has power) a month ago. He has spent the last three weekends trying to put it in. It has been a hassle and a half. Tonight I volunteered to babysit my neighbor's kids so he could help my husband finish setting it up and so I could avoid having to divorce my husband over the stupid lift.

They came in at 9:00pm tonight and my husband says (like it is NO BIG DEAL): "I need a 30 AMP dedicated circuit to operate the lift."

This would have been useful information to have a month ago.

Advertisement

__________________
If I could only remember to THINK about what I was doing before I did it.
Leah Frances is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2011, 09:42 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: SE Mass
Posts: 87
Rewards Points: 75
Default

By the way, honey, I need a 30 Amp circuit...


Leah, you mentioned that the garage has power. Does it have its' own sub-panel, or just one circuit to a light and outlet? If it has a panel, it shouldn't be too tough for an electrician to provide power to the lift.
If there is just one 120v 15 or 20amp circuit, you'll have to look into how it is powered.
If there is direct-burial cable, a trench will need to be dug out to the garage for the new power.
If there is a pipe run the whole way, you may get lucky and be able to add the necessary 30 amp wires too it (depends on size of pipe).
Either way you need to call a licensed electrician to get 'er done.

Look on the bright side, once the lift is in there, he'll spend even more time in there....priceless.

Advertisement

Do It Right is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2011, 09:49 PM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

By the way, honey, I need a 30 Amp circuit...


How much juice you got out there, Leah? Inquiring minds want to know ...
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2011, 09:51 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,976
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

By the way, honey, I need a 30 Amp circuit...


If you do not already have a 10 gauge 3 conductor (120.240 volt) circuit you will need to restring the entire feed from the main house. Only one circuit (either 120 volt only or 120.240 volt) is permitted between any two buildings. You may as well put in 6 gauge wires (red, white, black, 8 gauge green) for a 60 amp 120/240 volt circuit and thus provide for the future.

Include a subpanel if one is not already there.
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2011, 09:53 PM   #5
Learning by Doing
 
Leah Frances's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Easton, Maryland
Posts: 3,156
Rewards Points: 2,000
Blog Entries: 7
Default

By the way, honey, I need a 30 Amp circuit...


Thankfully, the garage was wired with substantial capacity. We've got 90 AMPS running to a sub-panel in the garage. But my husband had NO CLUE as to this, he just assumed it would be fine.

I'm the electrician, so I guess I know what I'll be doing next week. In my county homeowners can do their own work, so long as they get it inspected.
__________________
If I could only remember to THINK about what I was doing before I did it.
Leah Frances is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 07:06 PM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

By the way, honey, I need a 30 Amp circuit...


I'm licensed in your county, so if you get in a jam, call me ...
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to kbsparky For This Useful Post:
Leah Frances (02-27-2011)
Old 02-27-2011, 11:02 PM   #7
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

By the way, honey, I need a 30 Amp circuit...


Quote:
Originally Posted by Leah Frances View Post
My dear sweet husband bought a portable lift for our detached garage (it's 75 feet from our house and has power) a month ago. He has spent the last three weekends trying to put it in.
A portable lift
Did he have problems getting the garage door open

Advertisement

a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New circuit breaker owen22 Electrical 14 01-12-2010 08:08 PM
open circuit unknown location / voltage leakage fishmanflats Electrical 4 12-23-2009 10:04 PM
Home Theater Dedicated Circuit rjschwar Electrical 20 12-16-2009 01:42 PM
Changing a 3 way circuit...using recessed lighting box as a junction box? Oxymoron Electrical 1 12-07-2009 07:46 PM
Circuit out but circuit breaker didn't trip PaulenAndrew Electrical 17 08-16-2008 09:38 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts